Oil Change interval

50 MPG

TDI
2003 Golf
My mechanic recommends changing oil every 5K miles in my 03 Golf. We are using Motul 5w40 x-cess synthetic. The owners manual specifies 10K miles. I hope to run the Golf to 300K miles. I'm at 105K miles and she runs great. Which one should I listen to?

50 MPG

TDI
2003 Golf
Sorry guys. As you can see, I'm a brand new newbie. This has been done to death, and the answer for VW specified oils is 10K. I'm pretty sure the Motul we use is at least as good. Let me know only if you disagree about the quality of the oil.

SyNtAxx

Veteran Member
TDI
2001 Tornado Red GLS TDI
My mechanic recommends changing oil every 5K miles in my 03 Golf. We are using Motul 5w40 x-cess synthetic. The owners manual specifies 10K miles. I hope to run the Golf to 300K miles. I'm at 105K miles and she runs great. Which one should I listen to?

I change mine at 10k mile intervals. Sometimes 12k miles. Ther is no need to change sooner then 10k. Unless you like spending 2x as much money then needed.

I am sure most here will say the same. Some may even advocate for longer intervals. If the manual says 10k then you cant go wrong at 10k, provided you use the proper oil, etc.

I cant speak for your choice in oil. I have only ever used Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck or Rotella T6, both 5w40.

Nick

yatzee

Top Post Dawg
TDI
see sig
I change mine at 10k mile intervals. Sometimes 12k miles. Ther is no need to change sooner then 10k. Unless you like spending 2x as much money then needed.

I am sure most here will say the same. Some may even advocate for longer intervals. If the manual says 10k then you cant go wrong at 10k, provided you use the proper oil, etc.

I cant speak for your choice in oil. I have only ever used Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck or Rotella T6, both 5w40.

Nick
x 2. no reason to do 5k intervals. I would question whether your mechanic knows anything about tdi's

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta