www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas

VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas Discussions area for A5/MkV Jetta/Golf (2005/2006 PD and 2009 CR).

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 20th, 2017, 11:30   #46
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

I purchased the ARP 202-4303 set. I'll need to machine down the nuts to clear the caps.
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2017, 23:47   #47
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

This showed up today

2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2017, 23:47   #48
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

ARP studs are supposed to arrive tomorrow
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2017, 04:39   #49
scrambld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belchertown, MA
Default

Get it done already. I am wanting to know your results. I wasn't so happy with mine....I believe I still have an undiagnosed issue with mine from the get go.
scrambld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2017, 07:16   #50
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

Did you run some logs and have Mark look it over?
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2017, 15:21   #51
scrambld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belchertown, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004LB7 View Post
Did you run some logs and have Mark look it over?
Yes, per them nothing out of whack (and 4 other local TDI gurus from this site have been thru this car). I was MUCH more impressed with the Malone Stg2 and stock turbo ....by a lot (VR6 clutch had already been installed). That setup flat out smoked the present setup...wish I had the original "broken" turbo back. SERIOUSLY! Turbo came from Kerma, so unless something was amiss with the "new" turbo I am at a loss as to why it won't perform...?

PS. Search for my previous post regarding this issue, as far as I can tell every leaf has been turned over. I am SURE something has been over looked...

Last edited by scrambld; November 25th, 2017 at 15:24. Reason: spelling
scrambld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2017, 17:48   #52
lamboworld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tarheel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrambld View Post
Yes, per them nothing out of whack (and 4 other local TDI gurus from this site have been thru this car). I was MUCH more impressed with the Malone Stg2 and stock turbo ....by a lot (VR6 clutch had already been installed). That setup flat out smoked the present setup...wish I had the original "broken" turbo back. SERIOUSLY! Turbo came from Kerma, so unless something was amiss with the "new" turbo I am at a loss as to why it won't perform...?

PS. Search for my previous post regarding this issue, as far as I can tell every leaf has been turned over. I am SURE something has been over looked...
I have the PD140 turbo with a Malone Stage 4 tune and it is significantly faster than my previous stock turbo Malone stage 2 tune. I suspect that have something wrong.
lamboworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2017, 18:08   #53
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

Got my studs in finally.

Chucked the nuts up in my drill and ran a file over them. Now I need to see if they fit






Last edited by 2004LB7; November 25th, 2017 at 18:13. Reason: Resize photos
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 04:55   #54
scrambld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belchertown, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamboworld View Post
I have the PD140 turbo with a Malone Stage 4 tune and it is significantly faster than my previous stock turbo Malone stage 2 tune. I suspect that have something wrong.
I agree 1000%.......but after 4 TDI masterminds couldn't figure it out I've given up hope.....I'm reminded of how underpowered/laggy this thing is every time I drive it.

OP, carry on and enjoy!
scrambld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 05:30   #55
lamboworld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tarheel
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrambld View Post
I agree 1000%.......but after 4 TDI masterminds couldn't figure it out I've given up hope.....I'm reminded of how underpowered/laggy this thing is every time I drive it.

OP, carry on and enjoy!
I am going to make a suggestion. I doubt very seriously if you have had 4 TDI pros look at your car that your issue is with anything mechanical. I suspect that you have an issue with your tune. If I were you, I would have my car reflashed.

I originally had a Malone 1.5 tune and when I sent my ECU to Andrew they accidently flashed their stage 2 tune and it ran like ****. After multiple conversations with Andrew Rodriguez he figured out that my car did not have the correct tune. You could run a few logs if you have VCDS that might help figure out if your problem is tune related but I suspect that it is.

Sorry to get off topic OP.
lamboworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 10:25   #56
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamboworld View Post
Sorry to get off topic OP.
As long as it stays civil and doesn't turn into an internet brawl I am OK with it. It is at least mildly related though
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 11:21   #57
hymato
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NorthEast PA
Default

Where did you get your injectors and how did you set the lash?
hymato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 11:42   #58
2004LB7
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
TDI(s): 2006 Jetta
Fuel Economy: 42/46
Default

Nothing is installed yet. Too many hours at work.

My understanding is that injector lash is set with a dial indicator to find when the injector is fully pressed, bottom out the adjuster screw and then back it out 180*

If all goes well I will attempt to install on Tuesday and Wednesday
2004LB7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 14:40   #59
scrambld
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belchertown, MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamboworld View Post
I am going to make a suggestion. I doubt very seriously if you have had 4 TDI pros look at your car that your issue is with anything mechanical. I suspect that you have an issue with your tune. If I were you, I would have my car reflashed.
Yes, 4 TDI pros....all from the forum here.

3 Malone tune adjustment trying to resolve the issue and 1 TDtuning tune all without remedy.

I won't say it is a not a tune issue but they do know their tuning....


PS: 2004LB7 I just want to experience a well responding BRM/PD140/Malone Stg4....living vicariously through you...LOL

Last edited by scrambld; November 26th, 2017 at 14:42.
scrambld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 15:20   #60
crazyrunner33
Veteran Member
 
crazyrunner33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

Scrambld, how does your car run on the top end, or from 2 grand and above?
__________________
'06 Jetta DSG: GTB1749VC, PD150 injectors, Malone tune, and some other stuff and things
'97 Cummins: It looks stock, does that count?
crazyrunner33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 BRM - No Power Jaredmon VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 9 December 21st, 2017 06:22
BRM power loss on highway chessmyantidrug VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 12 May 13th, 2016 22:41
2006 BRM How much power? atstodd TDI Power Enhancements 11 January 15th, 2014 08:14
BRM power needs gilberjj TDI Power Enhancements 3 April 15th, 2010 00:04
BRM PD Power Options osomphane TDI Power Enhancements 16 October 17th, 2007 11:24


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.17545 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 127.69 Kb. compressed to 106.89 Kb. by saving 20.80 Kb. (16.29%)]