www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas

VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas Discussions area for A5/MkV Jetta/Golf (2005/2006 PD and 2009 CR).

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 26th, 2017, 14:39   #1
Iahaymakr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Iowa
TDI(s): 02 Jetta
Default 06 jetta 5 speed stalls intermittently

Our 06 jetta 5 speed will randomly lose power while driving. The engine and electrical functions are on but there is no throttle response. We step the clutch in and shift gears and it will take right off. May happen several times a day and then not again for a week, although its getting more frequent. Scanner codes include cam position sensor fault, and variable turbo position fault. Mechanic isnít sure either of these are related to the stalling problem. Anyone know what we should try first. Car has 302k and runs great otherwise.
Iahaymakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2017, 16:24   #2
crazyrunner33
Veteran Member
 
crazyrunner33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

These problems are common on our cars and it's usually a chaffed harness or dirty grounds. Try pulling the battery and airbox and inspect the engine harnesses and inspect the wires. Chaffing is very common at the harness around the starter and other points where the harness is held down. While you're down there, clean the ground connections.
__________________
'06 Jetta DSG: GTB1749VC, PD150 injectors, Malone tune, and some other stuff and things
'97 Cummins: It looks stock, does that count?
crazyrunner33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2017, 18:39   #3
Iahaymakr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Iowa
TDI(s): 02 Jetta
Default

I took your advice and searched for chaffed wires but really found nothing that looked bad at all. Also cleaned grounds, which also seemed clean but now are shiny. Test drove the car and it still stalls randomly just like before. Any chance this is a fuel system problem? I thought the car had reacted to gear change before and took off, but if I change gears fast enough its still dead. And if I do nothing but coast and hold the pedal down it eventually takes off. Plan to change fuel filter tomorrow since its a simple fix. I doubt it will solve the problem as clogged filters usually don’t act like this.
Iahaymakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2017, 19:45   #4
aja8888
Veteran Member
 
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Texas..RETIRED 12/31/17
TDI(s): Out of TDI's
Fuel Economy: About as good as it gets!
Default

When was the last time the fuel filter was changed? Also, check the in-tank fuel pump for flow.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Mike View Post
........"Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face." -- philosopher Mike Tyson.
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2017, 04:00   #5
Tdijarhead
Veteran Member
Default

I just ran into this thread that goes along with what ala8888 said.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=484015

Post #14
Tdijarhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2017, 06:28   #6
crazyrunner33
Veteran Member
 
crazyrunner33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

That's a good suggestion, so far you're taking the proper diagnostic route, starting with the simple and cheapest things first. Do you have access to VCDS? VCDS will give you a lot more detail than a normal code reader.

Cam position sensor failures are rare on these engines, but do occur. Usually it's a wiring issue that's the cause of a CPS fault. The wires for the CPS and VNT control do run near each other. Here's a detailed thread about the CPS.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=389318

Keep in mind that the engine can run without the cam position sensor, when that happened to me the ECU ended up using the crank position sensor and the tach would no longer read.
__________________
'06 Jetta DSG: GTB1749VC, PD150 injectors, Malone tune, and some other stuff and things
'97 Cummins: It looks stock, does that count?
crazyrunner33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2017, 07:09   #7
whitedog
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bend, Oregon
Default

I'm confused on what your problem is. You said in the title that it stalls but in your post, you said it looses power.

Does the engine die completely, or does it stay running with low power?
__________________
Can rent movies at BlockBuster.
whitedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 05:01   #8
Iahaymakr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Iowa
TDI(s): 02 Jetta
Default

The engine basically has no throttle response for 5-7 seconds, then comes back and runs fine. Might happen a few to several times in a few miles driving and then be fine for the next 20 miles...
Its getting steadily more frequent. A month ago it happened only five or so times every 500 miles. Now its at least ten times in 50 miles.
Codes are both intermittent, cps sensor and turbo actuator position sensor
Iahaymakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 05:05   #9
Iahaymakr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Iowa
TDI(s): 02 Jetta
Default

I had been thinking lift pump failure or fault in wiring to lift pump but the car never sputters or lacks power like a fuel supply problem. It is either running great or completely flat on throttle response for 5-7 seconds. I purposely drove some big hills last night which it roaredup with no problem, then went a few miles more and started cutting out again.
Iahaymakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 05:22   #10
whitedog
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bend, Oregon
Default

Yep. Sounds like a wiring issue.
__________________
Can rent movies at BlockBuster.
whitedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 05:28   #11
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

If it is happening that frequently, you should be able to catch some data with a scan tool. Could be something as simple as a brake light switch coming active when it shouldn't (like you were driving two-footed). If the ECU sees brake pedal switch signal, the RPMs go to idle or just above idle, regardless of how far down you push the accelerator pedal.
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 07:13   #12
N.CaTDI
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NorthBay San Francisco, CA
TDI(s): 2005.5 Jetta
Default

Bad VNT look into Zip Tie mod easy and cheap to try. Not say that is what it is but sounds like it could be. VCDS is really needed for these cars.
N.CaTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 07:27   #13
Iahaymakr
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Iowa
TDI(s): 02 Jetta
Default

Will the brake light switch act this way on a five speed manual? I see that with an auto trans but not so much a manual. Will check it later this week. Going to be too busy to work on it for a couple days.
Iahaymakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2017, 07:58   #14
oilhammer
Certified Volkswagen Nut Vendor
 
oilhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St Louis
Fuel Economy: fantastic
Default

ECU uses brake switch input no matter which transmission it has. Manuals also use the clutch pedal input (there is an upper and a lower).
__________________
oilhammer
www.cardocautomotive.com
oilhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 jetta TDI stalls after start? digi923 VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 5 August 13th, 2013 19:05
Car stalls then dies intermittently as well as no start issues Itsjustmetal VW MKVI-A6 Golf family including Jetta SportWagen (~ 2010-2014) 3 April 16th, 2013 17:27
06 Jetta tdi starts/stalls out kcjettaman TDI 101 0 February 24th, 2012 09:13
Rough idle and car stalls intermittently Marlyece VW MKVI-A6 Golf family including Jetta SportWagen (~ 2010-2014) 3 November 6th, 2011 14:46
06 jetta tdi ac works intermittently caper7 VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 1 May 11th, 2009 18:18


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
© 1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16217 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 116.39 Kb. compressed to 96.91 Kb. by saving 19.48 Kb. (16.74%)]