Newbie needs tips on buying '03 Wagon

mimmik

TDI
2010 manual JSW
Hi - I'm a newbie on the search for my first TDI and am looking this afternoon at a manual '03 jetta Wagon. Until now I've just been looking at '05-'06 jettas and Golfs because of problems I've read (Consumer Reports, Edmunds, forums, etc) about for the earlier years with major engine, fuel and electric issues.

If I like the car and it seems ok on the test drive, I'll def have a TDI mechanic look at it, but I'd love anyone's input on what to look for on this '03 wagon so I don't end up buying a car that I'll have to sink thousands of $$ into in the first few years I have it.

Is there a way for a mechanic to know if a certain car is prone to the head cracks, etc that have a been a problem with these models? Are there any other specific things I should have them look at or test that are known issues?

Thanks for any ideas!

All of Us

Ian's Dad
TDI
2015 NMS Passat SE TDI "Gin" 2006 A5 New Jetta TDI "Graycie" and 2003 A4 Jetta GLS TDI "Liath"
Considering new acquisition

mimmik:

Welcome to the Club. You will find lots of good information here, and widely varying opinions too.

With respect to your looking at the Jetta TDI Wagon, you will find that the prices run higher on the wagons because the cars are rare. I believe the owners realize that and price them higher because of it. I don't know what shape the car is in or what the "blue book" value is on the car, but you should figure that out and determine what price you are comfortable with paying for the car. Make sure you consider any repairs or maintenance issues that you will have to do on the car (like, is the care due/overdue for a timing belt?).