ABS "Farting" when stopping

rshelor

Veteran Member
TDI
'05 Jetta Sportwagen (PD)
OK, I've cleaned sensors, taken to local reputable wrench who found no scan faults or anything to indicate the cause. Anybody have similar problem? How about ground to module issue. Similar thing on my Silverado turned out to be the ground to the unit.

History:
ABS light came on and replaced sensor w/front wheel bearings. Light went out, but farting did not stop.

Any way to defeat ABS w/o triggering dash light?

Last edited:

roadhard1960

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta wagon GLS 5 speed
I have no experience but here is a question or two. Have you bled the brakes using the VagCom ABS procedure? Have you scanned with a Ross-Tech cable and software?

rshelor

Veteran Member
TDI
Abs

I don't think its an issue of bleeding as the trouble started during a sand storm in AZ. ABS light went on and went off after installing a new driver's side sensor. The "farting" issue began then and did not end w/new sensor. Brakes were bled three or more months before during clutch change by good wrench worker, so don't think I can hang it on them unless its a delayed affair. Logic would make one suspect the new sensor, but scan says no problems there.

The same good wrench did the scan and I have no idea what he uses.

FL/COtdi

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta wagon
The first time I had to slam the brakes the car felt very different. I reason that the ABS brakes rapidly lockup and let go very quickly. Sets up a funny vibration that could be considered farting? No CEL at that time, though.

rshelor

Veteran Member
TDI
Abs

No this is the ABS operating when ever I come to a slow stop. Not all the time, just often enough to really get under your skin.

Matthew_S

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS galactic blue