www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 16th, 2008, 15:11   #1
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default VAG-COM Plotting Software

The Windows-based log plotting application you've all been using for a while... No changes, moved host.

Dropbox link - LogPlottingApplication.zip


A few caveats:

Obviously you need to know how to use VCDS and log data to file before using this application, this is simply a log viewer if you will.

You can't open the log file with this app if VCDS still has control over it, you need to choose the done/close button on VCDS to gain access to the file. Nothing on the log file will be changed, it's a read-only affair with this application.

It should be capable of taking any measuring blocks setup under any of the three groups provided under VCDS measuring blocks. If three groups are logged, there will be three tabs and thus three plots when the application runs.

If you start and stop the log, VCDS will insert the block headers into the datastream, this is not handled so well in the current version, don't use log files that have this... Also, I developed this against current versions of VCDS, I don't know if anything changed in terms of the log file formats in the past, if you have historic logs they might not work.

I use whatever units and block headers that are supplied by the VAG-COM log file, I modify it to some degree to incorporate the legend description and units while eliminating redundant text if found. The naming and units are only as good as what is provided in the log file. The x-axis is time based and is not necessarily second-by-second, it is based as far as I know on sample rates from VAG-COM.

Right clicking on each plot gives you many options of printing, saving as an image, copying to clipboard, etc. When printing, the page setup is not landscape by default, I'll fix that at some point...

You need to zoom, pan and if a mistake is made "set scale to default" and try again.

Some measuring blocks have bit data such as 0 1 0, this isn't a numeric value and can't be plotted, thus it is displayed as a 0.

A red line is drawn at 100 for duty cycle's sake, most pertinent measuring blocks include this but some don't, if you are looking at a block that doesn't the line is still drawn but won't really do anything.

You need to have the Microsoft .NET framework ( 2.0 or greater ) installed as a prerequisite.

You can drag and drop a log file onto the executable or a shortcut to the executable and it'll open right up.

Let me know if you find this useful or have any issues with it.

I'm not responsible for anything that might happen to your computer or log files or whatever with this OK?

Last edited by jollyGreenGiant; December 23rd, 2015 at 10:21. Reason: New hosting location
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 16:06   #2
daedalus
Veteran Member
 
daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pittstown NJ
Default

OUTSTANDING!
Thanks very much...
__________________
2005 Passat TDI Wagon
RocketChip Stage 1 -- 5 Micron fuel filter - EVO Thor skidplate -- Huper-Optik 50 tint - FrostHeater Coolant Heater -- Ventectomy - Chain-free at 100K miles -- Bosch 5V steel GPs -- Torque Converter done at 127K miles
SOLD at 140,800 miles - Torque Converter again! Now pushing a B6 gasser wagon
daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2008, 18:22   #3
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

I should have also mentioned that 1024 X 768 is really the minimum for it to run so I know a lot of folks have cheapo laptops with VAG-COM, sorry but a higher resolution really helps this application's abilities and may in fact be necessary. I haven't tested out the usual resolutions yet and mine is 1910 X 1200 which is great when you maximize the form as the plot will grow and fill accordingly...
Any Copy to Clipboard or Save As command will produce an image resolution the same as the window size.

On a laptop, you can often get middle click for panning by holding down both buttons simutaneously and using the touch pad to do the pan movement, if you have a mouse with a clickable scroll button you can zoom with scroll and pan with click, very helpful for zooming in and out and generally moving and resizing the plot however you want.

Copy to Clipboard is a vector based metafile.

Don't be afraid to zoom into a small area ( Y-Axis -10 to 20 ) especially when you are looking for something like injection advance ( Group 004 ) and the units is 0-18 but the RPM is also causing the X-Axis to autosize up to 400 due to RPM.

One of my favorite combinations of 3 logging groups is 011, 003 and 004, what's yours?

Here's an 011 plot:

Last edited by jollyGreenGiant; February 7th, 2008 at 13:37.
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 10:53   #4
schwechel
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Slinger, WI
Fuel Economy: 55/50/40
Default

Very cool, I'll have to try it out.
__________________
03' Galactic Blue 250,000 miles. Ventectomy, Euro Spec side mirrors, Monster Mats, PhatNoise, clear side markers, Key Fob Mod, grille badge, Euroswitch, E-codes, PP520s, Zerostart, 5 Brake Light, EGR Delete, Boost/EGT gauge, RC2, and boostvalve.
schwechel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 11:00   #5
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

I have noticed that some VAG-COM logs put a space between the line with ECU part # and GroupA,B,C headings and some don't. I wrote the application to read files that HAVE the extra line there. If you don't get any keys or group headings, open the file in notepad or even Excel and then save it back to .csv and insert a carriage return after the line tha
t has the ECU number.
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 11:49   #6
lost1wing
Veteran Member
 
lost1wing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA, Georgia, Homerville
Fuel Economy: n/a
Default

I can't wait to try it. Thanks.
__________________
lost1wing
2003 Jetta TDI X2 43mpg city
47mpg Highway
lost1wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2008, 12:02   #7
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

I'll post back when I make changes and post new versions. I have a slight weakness currently with the quality of the image saved, copy to clipboard into a Word document say produces super duper quality, most other methods aren't so great... I'm on it though...
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 18:43   #8
Lightflyer1
Veteran Member
 
Lightflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Default

Thanks!
Lightflyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2008, 12:40   #9
Grigg3
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lexington, VA
Default

This is a great program!
Thanks!

I needed to first download the .NET 2.0 framework (as noted in the first post)
Here is a link for the rest of you who need it:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
Just click "download" and a few more clicks and a few minutes later it's done.

Grigg
__________________
05 Jetta wagon, 15 Golf wagon
Grigg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 21:30   #10
Fix_Until_Broke
Veteran Member
 
Fix_Until_Broke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Fuel Economy: 75.0/53.0/38.4
Default

I have not tried your application, but I do recall that there is a VagScope.exe application available when you download VagCom which seems to do what you describe/show.

Maybe you've tried it and it does not do what you want, but just in case you didn't know about it...
__________________
03 Jetta, Cat 2u, DG Steel SP w/MOGolf Mod, 3"DP, 4"EXH, EaBP100 Bypass, Euroswitch, ECodes, Driving Light, PD Lift Pump, R520's, RC5,RC6, TDTuning, Malone, ScanGaugeII, 3" TIP, 2" TOP, HE221W Compounded with GTC1444VZ, 6 Bar MAP, VR6 MAF, Vented Fender Liner, Battery Cover Mod, 11mm, Monster Mats, 215/55/17 (27.9/53.0/75) Monthly MPG Links, Euro Trunk Latch, IDParts RSB, SDI or ALH Intake, ARL Ceramic Pistons, Rosten Rods, DRW, Wavetrac, SBC, FSD's, Beef Springs, Rebuilt Head, Recaro's, Colt II, DG Sigma 6, RMT200
Fix_Until_Broke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2008, 07:49   #11
Honeydew
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Florida
Default

JGG- I like your software, it works well and is much quicker than excel graphing. Thanks
Honeydew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 15:10   #12
tdiguy308
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SW Ont to SE MI daily...
TDI(s): '03 TDI
Default

Thanks for the program!
__________________
Steve | HEX-USB+CAN | 258,000 miles/415,220 km Aug 27, 2009
tdiguy308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2008, 14:39   #13
greenskeeper
Veteran Member
 
greenskeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Fuel Economy: 53mpg
Default

whats the best way to convert the EMF image to JPG for posting on tdiclub?
__________________
Gunga galunga...gunga -- gunga galunga.
98 JETTA TDI (SOLD) PP764s, RC3, 5deg advanced, 0.68 5th
97 F-250 Crew Cab 4x4 7.3L PSD E4OD (stock)
99 F-250 Crew Cab 4x4 7.3L PSD ZF-6 (4" turbo back, Hydra chip)
greenskeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2008, 19:17   #14
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

You can save it as anything when you right click and save as. I think .PNG is the best quality for now. I'm working on better output.

If you already have a .emf file, open it with MS Paint and then save it as .jpg or .png from there. Alternatively you can use another application but MS Paint should be preloaded on all PC's with XP and 2000 as far as I know.
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2008, 13:34   #15
jollyGreenGiant
Veteran Member
 
jollyGreenGiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bradford Massachusetts
Default

Just uploaded a new version with a lot of improvements, dual y-axis scaling for example. On any group that has RPM, this should make a big difference in terms of scaling and what you can view.

I find the .png format is best for image quality when saving and TDIClub servers accept this as well as all browsers display them, this is now the default format when saving. The resolution is 1920 X 1220 so if you want to post the plots up for viewing, you better resize them, in XP you can just right click the image file, choose resize and then whatever resolution you want ( 800 X 600 ) for example.

A mouse with a clickable scrollwheel makes this app very user friendly BTW.

Last edited by jollyGreenGiant; February 7th, 2008 at 13:42.
jollyGreenGiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.20790 seconds with 12 queries
[Output: 127.54 Kb. compressed to 105.95 Kb. by saving 21.59 Kb. (16.93%)]