www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 18th, 2013, 09:25   #1
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default Connect ECU to Cluster on bench

Hello.
Looking to connect a immo3 ECU to cluster on the bench for testing.

Looking to know which CAN high and CAN low to use on the cluster end.

On this pinout there is CAN in and out? Which ones would you use? or does one go to the ECU and one go the the OBD?

These are 2 options I have though of. If anyone knows if one of these is correct or if both are wrong any advice would be great

Thanks

In this way Im not sure what CAn to use for the cluster. It has both in and out.
[IMG][/IMG]

In this way im not sure if the CAN come in from the OBD or in from the ECU?
[IMG][/IMG]
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2013, 09:26   #2
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

Here is the pinout im going by for the cluster CAN lines in and out.

2k2 model, Golf/Jetta (Bora) - euro:
32-pin, green:
1 - vacant
2 - reading coil for immo 1
3 - warning lamp for side lights
4 - data bus (CAN), screening for input signals
5 - W-wire
6 - washer fluid shortage
7 - brake pad wear
8 - vacant (CAN + High) connect to T23/9 of the ccm**pre 2002, Immo II cars only.
9 - vacant (CAN - Low) connect to T23/6 of the ccm** pre 2002, Immo II cars only.
10 - vacant
11 - signal for vehicle stationary
12 - aircon system cut-off
13 - warning lamp for hand brake
14 - warning lamp for ASR/ESP
15 - vacant
16 - vacant
17 - reading coil for immo 2
18 - oil temp & level warning signals
19 - data bus (CAN), high input signal
20 - data bus (CAN), low input signal
21 - vacant
22 - bonnet switch input signal (connect to T15/5 of the CCM)
23 - MFI call up button, top
24 - MFI call up button, bottom
25 - MFI memory switch - reset
26 - ambient temp input signal
27 - data bus (CAN), high output signal
28 - data bus (CAN), low output signal
29 - vacant
30 - clock**
31 - data**
32 - enable**
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2013, 14:02   #3
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

I have found the following

ECU CAN Connections

edc15________Cluster
J248 pin 6 ----> T32a pin 20 CAN LOW input
J248 pin 7 ----> T32a pin 19 CAN HIGH input

ME7x
J248 pin 58 ----> T32a pin 20 CAN LOW input
J248 pin 60 ----> T32a pin 19 CAN HIGH input

So now I am assuming the following, adn if someone can confirm that would be great

The can outputs in the cluster go to the OBD
and does the kline need to be connected to all devices. ECU.,Cluster and OBD.
Or just to the cluster?

Thanks Guys
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 07:51   #4
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

I have tried with the connections above and still cannot adapt a key on the bench.

There must be something connected wrong or missing.

I am wondering where pin4 in the cluster connects.

Can data bus input signal. Pin 4?
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 09:07   #5
darkscout
Grammar Scout
 
darkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
TDI(s): 2003 Golf
Default

Do you have terminators at the end of your CAN network?
__________________
[Review]: ECS Mk4 Rear Hatch Pop Kit. 0/5 stars for Rear Hatch Popping. 5/5 stars for inflicting head trauma.
It's all just cheap chinese **** with a fancy vortex bling bling spin that attracts people
darkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 09:48   #6
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

No,
I just have the leads connected directly from the cluster to the ECU.
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 10:14   #7
darkscout
Grammar Scout
 
darkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
TDI(s): 2003 Golf
Default

You should have 120 ohm resistors on either end ( it may be in the cluster).

When off the resistance should be 60 ohm between the lines with everything powered off.
__________________
[Review]: ECS Mk4 Rear Hatch Pop Kit. 0/5 stars for Rear Hatch Popping. 5/5 stars for inflicting head trauma.
It's all just cheap chinese **** with a fancy vortex bling bling spin that attracts people
darkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 11:37   #8
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

Like this?
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 11:54   #9
darkscout
Grammar Scout
 
darkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
TDI(s): 2003 Golf
Default

Yep. But you honestly have to measure the resistance. There's no knowing if VW buried a terminator in the ECU or cluster.
__________________
[Review]: ECS Mk4 Rear Hatch Pop Kit. 0/5 stars for Rear Hatch Popping. 5/5 stars for inflicting head trauma.
It's all just cheap chinese **** with a fancy vortex bling bling spin that attracts people
darkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 12:07   #10
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

Ok so with nothing connected to the leads ill measure on the ECU side and the cluster side separately.

If there is a terminator it should give a reading like this?

floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 13:05   #11
darkscout
Grammar Scout
 
darkscout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
TDI(s): 2003 Golf
Default

That is correct. If it reads open then it means you need a terminator there.
__________________
[Review]: ECS Mk4 Rear Hatch Pop Kit. 0/5 stars for Rear Hatch Popping. 5/5 stars for inflicting head trauma.
It's all just cheap chinese **** with a fancy vortex bling bling spin that attracts people
darkscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 13:17   #12
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

Excellent.
Ill give it a go.
It hasn't worked for me so I'm sure at least one end is open.
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 14:05   #13
Mike_04GolfTDI
Veteran Member
 
Mike_04GolfTDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
Default

Are you trying to figure out if you can put the cluster and ECU in another vehicle for a TDI engine swap? Just curious.
__________________
2004 Golf GLS TDI 5-spd, DC Stage 1 Clutch, Evolution Atlas Skid Plate, Malone Stage 4 Tune, GT1749VB Turbo, 3 bar MAP
Mike_04GolfTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 14:13   #14
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

I'm trying to adapt IMMO 3 keys on the bench.
I can do immo2 no problem but IMMO3 needs to see the IMMO-ID from the ECU over the canbus.

I'm hoping bridging a resistor across both ends of the can high/low wires will allow it to work.

I have been tinkering for months with this.
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 16:13   #15
floyd27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto
TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Default

I did a quick test and found that the ECU has 120Ohms of resistance between the CAN HIGH and CAN LOW.

But the cluster is open circuit.
floyd27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running a Mk4 Golf/Passat 'B5' cluster on the bench vwsyncro Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) 8 December 7th, 2014 06:49
VCDS Connect Problem -Cluster?? jav VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 6 April 15th, 2013 18:54
scaner wont connect to the ecu?? openat6 OBD Scanners 3 December 17th, 2011 11:04
Bench test a cluster. floyd27 OBD Scanners 4 September 3rd, 2011 18:42
Cannot connect to Instruments cluster (solved) mario_renato OBD Scanners 17 March 12th, 2005 16:18


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.23305 seconds with 13 queries
[Output: 121.04 Kb. compressed to 100.52 Kb. by saving 20.52 Kb. (16.95%)]