Why I dont like the RNS 315 GPS radio phone navigation system on my 2011 TDI JSW

MoreGuns

TDI
2011 TDI JSW
Greetings

I am new to the club and new to VW and diesel.

I posted this on turbodiesel but thought it would be good here too.

Why I dont like the RNS 315 GPS radio phone navigation system on my 2011 TDI JSW

I have no experience with any other in dash navigation so take it for what its worth. This unit will get you from A to B but IMO thats it. It lacks some very basic "extras" that reasonable portable units include.

1. Phone cannot dial POI details screen. (Like calling to check hours of operation of the POI). The number is displayed on the details screen
it should be able to dial it. So I somehow have to try and remember a 10 digit number and press a bunch of other buttons to call and see if
the store is even open.

2. GPS zoom out is far too minimunal during route navigation. About 5 other buttons are required to push to get to the overview map
and even then its not zoomable.

3. POI during route navigation is almost useless. Why do I care about a hotel, gas station, resturant 48 miles behind me?
There should be an option to only display POI's along my route (and not 48 miles behind me). I mean really, Are you going to turn around
and drive for 48 miles (96 miles total) to get a sandwich and a drink? If the POI was a mile or two I can unserstand but they got this one
all wrong.

4.There are three different volume settings (Phone GPS Radio) and its far too much of a hassel to figure out the right one.
So when I am talking to my passenger and the GPS *****ing betty comes on I hit the mute button but it only takes effect for that single
voice turn indication. There should be a seperate power button so I can select the volume device I want by pushing the volume button.
Or something really simple to that effect. As it is the volume settings for the particular device are burried in layers of menus. Or at the very