Buying 04 Golf - Original Timing Belt?

Apollo21

TDI
2004 Jetta (230K and kicking) and Golf (Dead)
Hello everyone! This is my first post so I thought I would introduce myself. I'm Pat and I'm a Midshipman at the US Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, NY. Hopefully in a few weeks I will be a newly commissioned ensign in the USN. I currently own a Jeep Grand Cherokee that I bought when I was in high school. To say the least the gas mileage isn't great but I'm proud to say I do all the work on it myself everything from spark plugs and oil changes to full axle rebuilds and suspension upgrades.

My dad has a 04 Jetta TDI that he bought on my recommendation. We both love it so I'm trying to pick up a Golf TDI in the next couple weeks. I have some diesel experience having worked on larger ones (13-50K HP) on ships and smaller Detroits, yanmars, and cummins on smaller power boats. But most of these have little in common with the 1.9T VW engine.

This Saturday i'm headed to go look at a couple of Golf MKIVs. One threw me for a loop though. It is a second owner and he bought the car with 78K and it now has 120K he said he never did the timing belt. Is it safe to buy, drive 700miles and then have the timing belt done by a local guru? Is there a way to tell if the timing belt had been done before?

Thanks,
Pat

csstevej

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 golf tdi 4 door auto now a manual, mine, 2000 golf 2 door M/T son's,daughters 98 NB non-TDI 2.0, 2003 TDI NB for next daughter, head repaired and on road,gluten for punishment got another tdi 2001NB,another yellow tdi NB
Welcome to the club! As stated above your on borrowed time. See if ther are any gurus in the area that you are looking at for cars, maybe they can take you in then and there. Just an option.

Apollo21

TDI
Welcome to the club! As stated above your on borrowed time. See if ther are any gurus in the area that you are looking at for cars, maybe they can take you in then and there. Just an option.