06 jetta tdi wont start when cold, glow plugs cycle normal, and no smoke.

Luskavarna

TDI
MkIII AHU, mk1 NA/IDI the-iron-muel
I have a mkV that runs great 48-52mpg but some times it will not start unless I crank on it for a long period of time, generally when the engine block has cooled below 32 deg. but not always. What is weird is that it usually starts immediately after venting the bleeder on the fuel filter. Last year it had a lift pump replaced.

It seems like a lack of fuel problem, and the MIL is not on. :mad::confused:

I am a Ford diesel mechanic but have no clue how these TDI diesels create fuel psi and inject, so there for I am lost when it comes to 05 and later TDI stuff.

Luskavarna

TDI
I love the car to death but I am close to filling the inter-cooler up with diesel and letting the B*&!@ run away until it melts down and post the video on youtube. :)

D-Cell_Mekanick

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Honda Civic SE
It has unitized injectors. Fuel pump in tank, tandem/fuel pump on rear of cylinder head and each fuel injector has its own high pressure pump built into it.

If you would like help, you need to supply us with more information. Like, mileage, last fuel filter change, is the lift pump running, is there fuel pressure to the filter housing, is the ASV open?

James & Son

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta
All I can say is before they would replace my lift pump( intermittent hard start in cold weather) the VW representative wanted all lines to be checked for air leaks, at the time the car was under warrantee. But since my dealers service manager thinks diagonostic is a last resort and at the time the car was under warrantee they decided to replace the lift pump instead which as it turns out would have been the most likely culprit from what i have read on this site.

D-Cell_Mekanick

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Honda Civic SE