jumped honda "ship" for a 2015 jetta tdi SEL

glong

TDI
jetta tdi SEL
hello forum I'm new to VW and diesel. i come from a tuner background and pretty aggressive driving style. i got the car for a really good deal .. well i think... (25.7k out the door with tax) but the issue is that when I'm driving and i push the brake at the same time as I'm gasing the gas doesnt feel like its going it feels like the fuel is cut off when you push the brakes. could someone explain this to me? also would a tune fix this? i am unable to heel toe while braking and left foot braking is complete out of the question because of this function. could you change it with VAG-COM? thanks.

I800C0LLECT

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Jetta & Passat
I'm wondering what is this really aggressive driving background all about?

My first thought is that fuel is cut off to the motor during braking because it's a vw diesel. It saves fuel and provides engine braking.

Now, while daily driving I don't brake while accelerating. I was taught that the left foot isn't to be used unleaded their is a clutch. Why? Mainly to communicate what I'm doing to other drivers. Also, riding the brake can cause over heating issues as some vehicles can be sensitive to slight pressure.

My mom's friend kept warping her brakes and she couldn't figure out what was going on until she realized it only happened after letting them borrow the vehicle. That was an expensive lesson. After fixing the problem twice, on its way to a third she asked if they drive with both feet. Yes.

Another problem is that if the brake is being engaged in any manner then the bulbs will be on, referencing that poor communication to other drivers as well as the potential for lights to burn out quicker.

I'd venture to say it's mostly a feature to reduce wear and tear while also saving fuel and maintaining driving characteristics of a diesel. So then it could be related to that?... Especially because it's not a race car

Last edited:

nord

Veteran Member
TDI