advise please

alexpart

TDI
golf mk5 1.9 tdi 54reg bkc engine (PD)
Hi guys...

New to this, i have a golf 1.9 tdi bkc engine and live in UK,

Im a novice at cars...i can do exhaust, brakes n stuff, but not much with engines.

Its happend twice now..at idle, could be stood still or free running, the car will noticabley shake and theres a loud noise from engine.

Noise is like something is catching from the back and bottom of engine, a knocking noise, like the flywheel catching on something.

Increase revs no issues.

Turn the engine off and back on, no issue!

Doesn't do it all the time, can be days before it does it again

Any ideas?

Cheers
Alex

theinternot

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Passat TDI SE
No idea if the UK Golf's have the DMF issues or not, but it sure sounds like the flywheel is going.

More details on the noise might be helpful.

Hi guys...

New to this, i have a golf 1.9 tdi bkc engine and live in UK,

Im a novice at cars...i can do exhaust, brakes n stuff, but not much with engines.

Its happend twice now..at idle, could be stood still or free running, the car will noticabley shake and theres a loud noise from engine.

Noise is like something is catching from the back and bottom of engine, a knocking noise, like the flywheel catching on something.

Increase revs no issues.

Turn the engine off and back on, no issue!

Doesn't do it all the time, can be days before it does it again

Any ideas?

Cheers
Alex

AD5GB

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta (Pkg 1)