Crank but no start

Plastervan

TDI
Vw golf 1.9 tdi
Hi all,
New to here and my first post. its agreat site you have here . have read many post b4 writing this post and gained some understanding of where to trouble shoot with the cars problem. I am not a mechanic or a diy er normally but the other halves golf has left me in this predicament .
Vw Golf 1.9 tdi 1998. 90,000 miles. Off the road now for 3 weeks.
It Will crank but won't fire. Our regular mechanic has tried but can not fix it. Had it to vw dealer , they said it had no error codes and that the timing was fine. To expensive to leave it with them for more work so towed it home.
Glow plg light comes on and goes off as normal. Battery seams good. We have check all the fuses. Replaced the 109 relay. Put a new EGR valve on. Replaced all four glow plugs. Changed shut off valve. Replaced engine crank shaft sensor.. Opened up a couple of injectors and cranked and fuel comes out.
Really struggling where to go from here, any help would be really appreciated.
Thanks
Marc

DPM

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2019 Rav4 AWD Hybrid, Citroen C4 BlueHDI
regardless of seeing fuel at the injectors I'd still look at fuel delivery.

Timing is known good mechanically.
GPs are irrelevant at current temperatures

The antishudder valve is definitely open?
No chance of a bad batch of fuel?

I'd replace the fuel filter and re-prime; and try again. Even an unprimed system will show fuel at the injectors, but if it's all working correctly a slightly loosened injector line should squirt fuel strongly...

Plastervan

TDI
Vw golf 1.9 tdi
Yes the anti sudder valve is definitely open. The fuel should be ok. I will do the fuel filter and re prime. Then post back with result:
No other issues recently with the car no. It's did this about 3 yrs ago, cure was 109 relay.
Then two years ago same thing , had a new fuel pump on and a crack shaft sensor fixed and run fine for past two years. Until now

csstevej

Top Post Dawg
TDI