Head gasket installation help

CollinGVT

TDI
1986 VW Vanagon AHU
Hi all,

I recently undertook installing a new head gasket to replace a leaky one. I followed the Bentley exactly, and yet I still have what I believe is a small set of air bubbles coming into the coolant expansion tank. I also see a small bubble of oil or two, and the coolant looks a little brown to me. I'm not too sure on the color, I've tried to capture in a video:
https://youtu.be/C55JeKUIlDA

What could I have messed up? This is my first time ever doing a head gasket so I wouldn't be surprised if I made a mistake. The oil doesn't have any evidence of coolant in it, and the oil cooler is new. Thanks for any help!

Collin

CollinGVT

TDI
1986 VW Vanagon AHU
Also, the head was redone by franko6.... So I'm ruling out a warped head. Frank told me the head was not badly warped and in spec. I'll also profess im not sure if the block warped or not

RoseBud68

Veteran Member
TDI
'99 mk3 Jetta 1.9
Was there still coolant in the block when you installed the head? You will need to flush out the system and remove the old coolant. Get the VW coolant not the green stuff from the autoparts store.

iluvmydiesels

Veteran Member
TDI
AHU
i use the super gunk stuff, its not the $3 or $4 stuff you can find, can be harder to find, and flush (hot, let cool 1st) with water 2x.

Abacus

That helpful B4 guy
TDI
Only the B4V left
Pull a coolant sample and have it analyzed, it's pretty cheap. While you can buy a home exhaust gas tester for cooling systems, I have not found it reliable on the TDI's.

Get a coolant pressure tester and see if the system leaks down. If it does, look for the leak. If you can't find it, have the oil analyzed for coolant. You'll have to do this with the engine off but then run the engine to get an oil sample.

I'd do this before pulling the head.

ToddA1

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'96 B4V, '97 B4 (sold), '97 Jetta (scrapped)
Did you install the head bolts dry or lightly oiled?