Getting a bit freaked out with info on TDI emissions

Blondee

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta
Ok, I am a newbie with a 2002 TDI with over 1000 miles (2100 km) and I must admit, I knew diesel wasn't the best for health reasons but neither is regular petrol.

I do have asthma and I have been reading up on the particulate formation that diesel fuel creates and the various problems inhaling the fuel/particluate has. I haven't yet come across any info on passenger diesel cars themselves. I am not impressed of the quality and the amount of sulfur in North American diesel.

I realize that new filters that will minimize the particulate will eventually be available, but it won't be available for several years. I can't get biodiesel in Vancouver Canada and I can't make it myself. I don't want to expose my family to any unnecessary risk, if at all possible.

I like the car very much and also the gas mileage, but I don't like the fact the EGR and intake gets plugged up relatively easily. Is there any "comforting" words of wisdom anyone has for me?

Thanks

tdi_veedub

Veteran Member
Use Sunoco Gold diesel if you can find it out there in BC.

"Floor it" as much as possible(after you break in the engine of course), and shift high 2500+ rpm to keep your intake clean.
That's what I do, and it seems to work, 117,000KM later, no plugged intake, and a working EGR valve

VW Derf

Administrator
Staff member
TDI
2010 Blue Graphite Pearl Golf Variant
Blondee, there are a few of us in the Vancouver area that hope to be able to get Biodiesel soon. I went to see a demonstration by a fellow at UBC who is hopping to start producing some, perhaps as a co-op. Hopefully in a month or two there will be more to say....

VW Derf

Administrator
Staff member
TDI
PS, stay tuned to the west coast topic area. We should be having another GTG in the next few weeks. We can put your mind to ease and one of us will have a Vag-Com handy.

Blondee

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta