Car won't start - After fuel leak

Kevin G

TDI
2002 Jetta
My 2002 Jetta sprung a leak from the fuel return line (fuel was squirting out while the engine was running). This was the small return line from the injector to the pump, not the larger line to the filter. I turned off the engine, popped the line off, and popped on a new piece of hose. Now the car won't run.

It starts, gets to idle speed, then shuts down. If I put my foot to the floor while it is starting, the RPMs will go over 2K, but it still shuts down just as quick.

I'm new to the diesel thing, so I'm not entirely sure how everything works and how sensitive things are. But my logic is that it was running when the line broke and the engine didn't shut off, so I would't expect to have an issue starting it. Is the issue that I really do need to bleed the whole system?

Elapsed time from leak to repair was about two hours. Thank you.

wonneber

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2014 Jetta Sportwagon,2003 Jetta 261K Sold but not forgotten
There should be an air bubble in the clear line from the fuel filter to the injector pump.
If not you may need to bleed the fuel line.

Basically with the key on (not running) you use a vacuum pump to suck fuel from the pump return line while you have the -return- line from the filter to the tank pinched.
Gets the air out of the feed portion.

If the car still starts and runs a few seconds you may not have to bleed the injector lines while cranking.
Have some rags under the injectors, loosen the 4 lines at the injectors and have someone crank the engine until fuel comes out w/o air spits.

Search here for bleed fuel (or injector) for more info.

Genesis

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'03 Jetta Wagon
You generally only need to crack one injector line nut; it makes a LOT less mess than cracking all of them!

The way I usually do this is:

1. Remove the line from the outlet of the filter and apply vacuum until fuel (and no air) comes out. Replace line to IP.