Another greaser now a former greaser...

Rick Blalock

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Jetta TDI, 2005 Passat Wagon TDI
... but not due to mechanical reasons. I recently sold my heavily modified Greasecar kit to a friend with an 02 Golf. I had all the bases covered to insure that literally not a drop of cold oil ever saw the engine and even oil reports from Blackstone that were within perfect normal limits for the same engine on diesel fuel.

BUT, I am a senior chiropractic intern in St. Louis, beyond busy with morning classes and then clinic the rest of the day/evening. So when I found that my oil source recently switched to a major grease rendering service and started filling their dumpster with nasty brown grease instead of the really clear stuff they used to put in a drum for me, I figured it was time to sell it. My buddy was already looking to convert his Golf so I sold it to him for a price that was a good deal for both of us and helped him install it all and train him on the extreme importance of becoming anal about perfect practices in this hobby.

If I ever get back into the hobby, I will definitely just go the extra step to make biodiesel. I enjoyed the hobby but simple philosophy (Murphy's Law) will tell you that with more complexity added to a system, the more things can go wrong and the tougher it is to diagnose problems. I'll be graduating in December and moving to Colorado Springs and definitely won't need any potential repair bills for my engine in addition to my student loan payments, all while collecting a pittance since the gov't doesn't pay crap for their already existing health care system and probably the same with their new experiment.

I didn't want to hijack RobRidd's thread about de-kitting, but I did invest in some PP520s with a small portion of what I sold my kit for. I'm excited to finally be able to improve the performance of my car now that I can safely do so :)