Died while driving P1562

alayer

TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
I'm pretty new to the TDI life and don't know a whole ton, so thanks in advance. Sorry for the long post I just figured the whole story might be important. I have a 2002 jetta with the ALH motor. I was driving and it lost power and then shut off. Nothing weird before this point had happened. Tried to restart it, would not start. Towed it home and figured it may be a clogged fuel filter. I change the filter and realize there is like a brownish nasty film in there. I think it might be algae? I figure there is more going on so I pull the pump and and see water at the bottom of the tank and in between the layers this nasty brown/yellow film again. I must have gotten bad fuel. I suck out all the water and the nasty stuff, fill it up with fresh diesel and clear the lines, pulling fresh diesel to the filter and pump. try to prime and start the car. Nothing, but I get a code. P1562, quantity adjuster upper limit reached. I figure there must be things going on in the pump. I pull the top of the IP and see its full of this nasty film. I clean it out the best I can. I Mark the center section and then pull that part off; the pump is full of this algae I think. I clean it all out the best I can while leaving the pump in the car. I pull the line and the injectors. they had some nasty stuff in them. I took them apart and cleaned them and Put them back in. Put everything back together, try to prime everything and bleed the injectors. Im only getting a little fuel to the injectors, never gets close to building enough pressure to start. I leave it for a few days and Im still getting the code and so I pull off the top of the IP again; it's dry, which I don't understand but anyway using OBDeleven in group 19 I'm getting .720 volts lower limit and stated .720 volts upper limit. Group 1 Im getting 4.7 volts when I manually sweep the quantity adjuster. I'm thinking about taking off the welds and going to clean the back side of the QA, I