Octane boost vs. Cetane boost addatives question

lovesTDI

TDI
2010 Jetta, 2010 Q7
I am very new to the TDI world and am researching what we could add to the fuel to increase Cetane rating of the fuel. In my experience with gas cars, the over the counter octane boosters were pretty much over priced junk. The thing that really woked was Toluene which one could obtain at Sherwin williams. Toluene is already in gasoline and as long as it has nothing else in it (No acetone!) just 2 gallons a tank would raise 91 octane to 94, which increased power noticably on cars that can automatically advance timing. I am wondering if there is a chemical that can be added to our TDI's that would accomplish the same thing. Thanks!

2slowtdi

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 ALH Bora gone. 2006 Benz CDI 235hp 420ftlbstq
I have always used Power Service (silver bottle summer,, white winter).
The times that I have forgot and not used it I can tell, but most Gear Heads could.

The points on bottles of gas octane booster is not the same points as the octane on the pump, as I recall its takes six points of octane booster to make one octane point of pump gas.

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 JSW TDI (gone but not forgotten)
Octane and Cetane are VERY different things (they are actually almost opposites). There are a variety of commercial additives that boost Cetane and other properties of diesel fuel. There are already lots of threads here about additives, so we don't need to start another "my additive is better than your additive" discussion. The general consensus seems to be tha a little cetane boost can't hurt, but most good diesel is high enough to work. However, there has been a lot of discussion about the lack of lubricity in US ULSD. If you are considering additives, read the threads about it and perhaps consider additives more on a lubricity basis rather than on cetane number alone.

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=266407
http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=269718