Mass. Resident Buying Out-of-state car

dieselated

TDI
TDI-less at the moment
I was talking on the phone with my car insurance people about buying a used car from a private, out-of-state owner, and it sounds like a very complicated process. (So complicated, in fact, that I couldn't even write it all down.) Do any of the Massachusetts members of the forum have experience with this? Is it possible to simplify the process?

Thanks!

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
It's quite simple, I've done it a number of times.

It can be made more complex by three factors:

• not paying cash
  • not transferring plates
  • can't have temp registration in MA

dieselated

TDI
TDI-less at the moment
Thanks for the quick reply!

So what is the best way to go about the transaction? I've never done this before.

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
why don't you PM me and let me know what you are attempting. I'll help if I can.

Lug_Nut

TDIClub Enthusiast, Pre-Forum Veteran Member
TDI
idi: 1988 Bolens DGT1700H, the other oil burner: 1967 Saab Sonett II two stroke
MA allows the temporary use (up to 7 days I believe) of valid registration plates on a new car provided that the old car from which the plates are removed has been sold.
The old registration and insurance binder, the old plates on the new car, and the bill of sale for the new car are all that is needed to legally bring the new car back to MA.
You'll then have to jump through the hoops to get the insurance binder and registration paperwork associated with the new car, but at least you'll have it home.

Now, just to whom you sell the old car isn't all that well specified, and I supose that the new owner doesn't have to take possession, and that there is no check to assure that the old car has actually left your possession....

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI