p0234 Engine Overboost Condition

VWLAW

TDI
TDI New Beetle, 2003, Silver
HELP!. Hey, I'm a newbie, grew up around Ford (International Harvester) Diesel. Anyway, I just got my first TDI (2001 Beetle with 56K miles) today and I've already got a MIL. Ran the car by Advanced Auto to get an OBD reading, which was an overboost condition (P0234). Symptoms are...no power boost after several minutes of driving at highway speeds. MIL go away after turning off and letting the car set for 10 minutes or so, but the MIL came back quickly (after punching the accelorator) and the car boost is pretty much non-existant. Any help? Is this a huge issue. I'm pretty sure the intake has never been clean (no service record and from what I've been reading here in the TDIClub, most dealers don't know about how to clean it anyway). What I don't want to do is sink another couple thousand into it. Help and suggestions please.

mkosem

Veteran Member
TDI
2001 Golf TDi
Sounds like your VNT actuator is stuck. Get some spray white lithium grease and try to free it. An adjustable wrench works perfectly for actuating it manually.

--Matt

Bob_Fout

Oil Wanker
TDI
2003 Jetta - Alaska Green (sold) / 2015 GTI 2.0T
I had a similar problem a while ago. It was the solinoid that controled the N75 vanes. It was replaced, $80.

Hope this helps.

VWLAW

TDI
You lost me there. I've read the "VNT" in some of the older posts for similar problems, but this is Greek to me. Where do I find a diagram or something that shows me where to start looking for the "VNT" on the car. I assume it has something to do with the Turbo as in a arm that can be moved around, but that's about all I can figure. You're continued help is appreciated.

VWLAW

TDI