Not your average big turbo build

tooslowtdi

TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
So I've been doing some research on "big turbo tdi's" for about a year now and decided I wanted to do my own so I bought a alh motor that had 2 bent valves as my project motor and I happend to have a hx35 off of a cummins laying around the shop and decided that was the turbo I wanted to use. As you know the turbo would be extremely laggy On a 1.9l alh so I'm interested in boring it to a 2.0 with the use of bhw pistons and I was just trying to get some feedback from some body any tips or things I need to know before I dive head first into this project

scrambld

Veteran Member
TDI
'06 Jetta...TDI/5spd :) >>>now a '15 Passat TDI/DSG
So turbo off a 5.9L fitted to a 1.9L will be too laggy....but + .1L 1.9 and it'll be ok? I am not an expert by any stretch but I would guess you're going to need quite a few other supporting components to pull this off?

Now again, I am not an expert so I am going to just sit back and learn a thing or two....or three.

tooslowtdi

TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
Should have probably clarified, there will be supporting mod I've got a 11mm pump, some nozzles that will be getting sent out to custom flowed and I'll be using Jeff at rocketchip for my tuning, p&p head etc....

BuzzKen

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
'10 Touareg TDI, '09 335D, '10 X5D
Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaag. That's my opinion.

Yucca

Veteran Member
TDI
ALH 388bhp, Polo 6R 2.0TDI CR GTC1752VZ
Use #8 turbine housing from Holset H1D. Turbo will spool just before 4000rpm so use 6000 or 6500rpm limiter.

Grede

Veteran Member
TDI
Skoda Citigo, Hyundai I30 1.6diesel
way to big turbo, unless use for nos for spooling or some king of air compressor to shot lots of air into ext housing to get that thing to spool.
Sell the turbo to some DSM/honda/mitsu, they love the lag and 8000rpm.

poormanq45

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Jetta BEW/2006 Jetta BRM