Daydream - building a 1.5L CR engine.

Jetmugg

Veteran Member
TDI
None
Possible to de-stroke a TDI to get under 1.5 L displacement?

I'm somewhat new to the VW diesel world, but have a decent amount of experience with MB diesels.

I'm researching the possibility of how to build the most available power from a VW turbodiesel engine, while keeping the displacement at or below 1.5L. This is for a racing application where the class I want to run is 1.5L or less. (H-class land speed record)

I know about the older generation 1.5L IDI diesels, and the 1.6L IDI turbo diesels, but I'm curious about the possibility of creating a TDI-based 1.5L engine.

It would be great to hear from anyone with experience, knowledge, or crazy ideas about how to build the most possible power from 1.5L or less, using a VW-based diesel engine.

Thanks,

SteveM

devonutopia

Top Post Dawg
TDI
PD300 Skoda Fabia
What about tuning the hell out of a 3 pot 1.4 TDI? ;) Its 3/4 of a PD130 TDI and with those tuned up to around 250whp, in "theory" a 3 pot could be around 180whp?

Jetmugg

Veteran Member
TDI
None
Sounds promising, but we don't have the 1.4 in the USA. I suppose importing one might be possible, but costly.

TDIMeister

Phd of TDIClub Enthusiast, Moderator at Large
TDI
TDI