www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI Power Enhancements

TDI Power Enhancements Discussions about increasing the power of your TDI engine. i.e. chips, injectors, powerboxes, clutches, etc. Handling, suspensions, wheels, type discussion should be put into the "Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)" forum. Non TDI vehicle related postings will be moved or removed. Please note the Performance Disclaimer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 18th, 2010, 08:13   #1
devonutopia
Veteran Member
 
devonutopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Devon, U.K
Default Using 3 bar map sensor on 2.5 bar map car

Is it just plug & play?? Have a spare PD130 3 bar map sensor and someone interested in it has a PD100. Obviously handy for the extra 0.5 bar range of pressure, but will it fit right in with no software changes?

I know going from 3 bar to 4 bar map sensor needs work, but never thought about this direction before.
__________________
Jason - Skoda Fabia TDI project
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOE4nbT5NGY 315bhp dyno run video of my car.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R5c496IG1Q Skoda Fabia GTB2260vk in-car acceleration video!
http://www.devoncardetailing.gb.net/
devonutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 08:16   #2
Mk2tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GTA
Default

Should drop right in. I changed from a 2.5bar to 3 bar map on a customers car awhile back. Took about 10min to swap.
Mk2tdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 10:17   #3
roy1
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mehlingen, Germany
Default

No it is not plug and play,the resolution and scaling will be off
roy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 10:21   #4
ryanp
 
ryanp's Avatar
Default

overboost that you cannot actually measure (without an external gauge) will be the only problem.
__________________

02M 6 Speed Conversions + Euro Parts - 6 Speed Setups for A4 + A5 platform,PD150 Intakes, TIP kits, Turbo's, Injectors as well as anything else!! PM Me! - Click HERE
ryanp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 11:52   #5
devonutopia
Veteran Member
 
devonutopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Devon, U.K
Default

Yeah - I realised it will physically be plug and play, but its what it means for the car, etc. Not to worry as the owner of said PD100 has paid me for the sensor so it is no longer a concern of mine.
__________________
Jason - Skoda Fabia TDI project
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOE4nbT5NGY 315bhp dyno run video of my car.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R5c496IG1Q Skoda Fabia GTB2260vk in-car acceleration video!
http://www.devoncardetailing.gb.net/
devonutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 11:59   #6
streeker02
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halton Hills
Default

he may be concerned when his tiny turbo starts overboosting

Definitely he needs to be remapped for that sensor.
streeker02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 12:14   #7
devonutopia
Veteran Member
 
devonutopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Devon, U.K
Default

I will send a message to the chap explaining this.
__________________
Jason - Skoda Fabia TDI project
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOE4nbT5NGY 315bhp dyno run video of my car.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R5c496IG1Q Skoda Fabia GTB2260vk in-car acceleration video!
http://www.devoncardetailing.gb.net/
devonutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 13:54   #8
hatemi
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Default

On some ecus you can use it and others you get occasional limp mode at startup from the measured and barometric being too far off.
__________________
www.tdituning.fi
hatemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 03:34   #9
bhodgkiss
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Banbury, UK
Default

i have an afn tdi 110bhp in my passat. i assume it has a 2.5bar sensor?
if i swap in a 3bar sensor, does my 'boost map' all scale up by 20%? or does it just stay the same, it just gives you the potential to run and measure above 1.5bar boost (21psi) so up to 2bar (over atmospheric) so 28psi?
bhodgkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 03:35   #10
devonutopia
Veteran Member
 
devonutopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Devon, U.K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhodgkiss
i have an afn tdi 110bhp in my passat. i assume it has a 2.5bar sensor?
if i swap in a 3bar sensor, does my 'boost map' all scale up by 20%? or does it just stay the same, it just gives you the potential to run and measure above 1.5bar boost (21psi) so up to 2bar (over atmospheric) so 28psi?
I don't know to what degree it affects the boost map, but you are right about it being able to read up to 2 bar of boost over atmos, once all setup.
__________________
Jason - Skoda Fabia TDI project
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOE4nbT5NGY 315bhp dyno run video of my car.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R5c496IG1Q Skoda Fabia GTB2260vk in-car acceleration video!
http://www.devoncardetailing.gb.net/
devonutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 14:34   #11
cog
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: MIDDLESBROUGH... U.K
Default

the connection was plug and play but i needed to make an adapter to fit into the hole along with some sealant as the 3 bar map was so small in the hole , unless thats just my 110 that has that problem. i know because changing to upgraded id parts pipes was a pain changing the adapter over and letting the sealant hardnen overnight
__________________
Now BMW 123d @ 272bhp
Formerly GT-TDI 110 AHF VNT 17VB[/B],@24psi ,,R520s,ported head,11mm pump,arp,headstuds,eurojet smic,id parts upgraded pipes,SBC[B] stage 3, pd150 manifold, custom silicone t.i.p 2.5"downpipe and cat delete,racepipe,,pd lift pump
cog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2010, 21:02   #12
roy1
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mehlingen, Germany
Default

You cannot(you can if you want) just swap a 3 bar sensor for a 2.5 bar without changing the engine mapping because, although the voltage range is the same, the voltage to pressure ratio is different. Your fueling will be off
roy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 09:43   #13
Jugghack2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Spanish On, Canada
Default

you will have to offset the voltage output with a pull up resistor as the Map reads in absolute not guage so at rest with eng off the voltage output is diffrent I think someone on here measured 1.94v stock and 1.64v on the 3 bar so if you bring the voltage at rest up to the same as stock you will gain about 4 or 5 psi on the intake with no codes.
__________________
__________________
99.5 A4, Jetta, 5 speed, 1.9 Tdi ALH, .205 nozzels, 11mm pump (dead Timing belt)
00 A4 Jetta, 5 speed, 1.9Tdi ALH, .216 nozzels, 11mm pump, maf rotated
02 2500HD Duramax LB7 6.6l, 6 Speed Stick, Edge with Att. Pod/overhead, CP Mac's SMF/SDC, MBRP CD's, AFE II, 285 rubber, and more to come
Jugghack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2010, 18:24   #14
robnitro
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NYC area, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roy1 View Post
You cannot(you can if you want) just swap a 3 bar sensor for a 2.5 bar without changing the engine mapping because, although the voltage range is the same, the voltage to pressure ratio is different. Your fueling will be off
I have, and others have. The turbo I had could handle the 22 psi it gave, and to bring up the fueling I lowered the IQ until I got a bit of smoke. It drove fine, only a bit performance to RC4 which is mapped to 3 bar.
robnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2011, 02:49   #15
bhodgkiss
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Banbury, UK
Default

AS i understand it, the pressure in the inlet measured by the MAP sensor converts to a voltage. Stick the 3 bar sensor in and the same pressure now reads a lower voltage, but the ECU is targetting a voltage (from a voltage/pressure map) and so keeps upping the boost until it hits that voltage?

This will be 20% higher across the rev range. AS its absolute pressure then 17psi boost (31psi absolute) goes up to 37psi so 23psi boost, so a fair amount of increase.

If you're overfuelling this will give more power, but in any case it shower lower EGT's?

I wouldn't do it myself without a remap, smaller turbos may not like that much increase, taking into account spikes.
bhodgkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16443 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 121.33 Kb. compressed to 100.47 Kb. by saving 20.86 Kb. (17.19%)]