www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub


Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 20th, 2013, 10:58   #1
SledDawg2
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Waterville, Me 04901
Default VCDS Software out of date

I have VCDS with the HEX-COM-CAN interface.
Software 11.11
Whenever I start my VCDS I 'm getting a warning that my software is out of date.

I only use this on my personal car ond once in a while another family member may ask me to check their VW for a CEL.

The problem is my lap-top does not have a modem and upgrading is not a straight forward procedure.
For my needs I'm happy with what I have.
How can I get rid of the peskey warning without having to upgrade the software ?

Last edited by SledDawg2; July 20th, 2013 at 11:26.
SledDawg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 12:19   #2
TDI_Dan
Veteran Member
 
TDI_Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Default

Download from another machine and install on a flash drive? You essentially do an over the top refresh/update. It will ask if you want to update the USB driver. That us optional but doesn't seem to hurt anything either if you do it. If you bought the legitimate cable, check with them. Does it have a cd rom drive? USB ports?
__________________
TDI_Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 12:37   #3
SledDawg2
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Waterville, Me 04901
Default Vcds

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDI_Dan View Post
Download from another machine and install on a flash drive? You essentially do an over the top refresh/update. It will ask if you want to update the USB driver. That us optional but doesn't seem to hurt anything either if you do it. If you bought the legitimate cable, check with them. Does it have a cd rom drive? USB ports?
Quote:
...Does it have a cd rom drive? USB ports
No USB port just a floppy slot like this ....



5.25" floppy

Last edited by SledDawg2; July 20th, 2013 at 12:42.
SledDawg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 12:46   #4
Shawnz
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ (Phoenix)
Fuel Economy: 45 MPG
Default

laptop with 5 1/4 floppy? Now I'm intrigued.

Sounds like an old lug-able in a sewing machine - like box.
__________________
2006 Mercury Montego Premier (FWD, 6 Sp auto)
2002 VW Jetta GLS TDI - 5sp swap, VNT 17/22, Bosio PP764, SBC Stg2 Daily SMF Clutch, Malone Stg 5, DG RacePipe, EGT / Boost Gauge, Evo Atlas skid, Curt hitch
Shawnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 12:59   #5
SledDawg2
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Waterville, Me 04901
Default

Years ago my father bought this...

It has a newer type video card and display output.
A printer card has also been added
SledDawg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 14:27   #6
Vince Waldon
Veteran Member
 
Vince Waldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Default

Under "Options", in the "check for free updates" pull-down, select "do not check for updates".
__________________
Vince Waldon Edmonton AB Canada
Canadian Grizzly's excellent low-power/limp mode troubleshooting guide
VW's TSB for scientifically tracking down parasitic current drains
Vince Waldon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 18:13   #7
Keithuk
Member
 
Keithuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent, England
Default

The latest version is Release 11.11.6 but you will need someway of getting it on your laptop.

If you click the X in the top right corner of that out of date message you can carry on using your current version.
__________________
Golf GTD (170) 2010, 5 Door, Shadow Blue, Flat Tyre Indicator, Service Plan, Basic Protection Pack +VCDS.

Keithuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2013, 13:25   #8
SledDawg2
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Waterville, Me 04901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince Waldon View Post
Under "Options", in the "check for free updates" pull-down, select "do not check for updates".
I've made this change under the Options section.
But I still get the prompt that my software is out of date.
SledDawg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2013, 13:27   #9
Vince Waldon
Veteran Member
 
Vince Waldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Default

Best bet might be to escalate to Ross-Tech directly... that's what Tech Support is all about and they have a history of actively wanting to know when there are bugs out there.
__________________
Vince Waldon Edmonton AB Canada
Canadian Grizzly's excellent low-power/limp mode troubleshooting guide
VW's TSB for scientifically tracking down parasitic current drains
Vince Waldon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2013, 17:35   #10
Lug_Nut
TDIClub Enthusiast
Pre-Forum Veteran Member
 
Lug_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1998
Location: Sterling, Massachusetts. USA
Fuel Economy: 116 mpg(e), 36 mpg gas, 100 mpg combined
Default

It's not checking any more, but it has already checkED, and the message will remain.
If you still have the install on floppy, uninstall from the machine, reload to the machine from the floppy, and turn off the check before it 'knows' there's a newer version out there.
Without a modem or connection how did it discover that there is a newer version than the one installed?
__________________
If the quantity of carbonic acid increases in geometric progression,
the augmentation of the temperature will increase nearly in arithmetic progression.

Svante Arrhenius 1896

Cogito ergo soy (I think, therefore: Biodiesel)
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2013, 09:26   #11
KERMA
 
KERMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: here
Default

what is your operating system?
__________________
HP is for show, TQ is for go.
celebrating http://www.kermatdi.com since 2002
kermatdi on facebook
No, no, you're not thinking; you're just being logical. - Niels Bohr
KERMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 04:39   #12
TDI_Dan
Veteran Member
 
TDI_Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lug_Nut View Post
It's not checking any more, but it has already checkED, and the message will remain.
If you still have the install on floppy, uninstall from the machine, reload to the machine from the floppy, and turn off the check before it 'knows' there's a newer version out there.
Without a modem or connection how did it discover that there is a newer version than the one installed?
I think it may use a timed expiration (?). It sounds illogical but, my laptop prompted me to update and I had no Internet connection at the time.
__________________
TDI_Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 04:42   #13
TDI_Dan
Veteran Member
 
TDI_Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SledDawg2 View Post
Years ago my father bought this...

It has a newer type video card and display output.
A printer card has also been added
Lol. I had an Atari 800 that used 5.25" floppies. No hard drive. Neighbor had a Commodore 64. It had cassette and floppy.
__________________
TDI_Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 04:51   #14
TDI_Dan
Veteran Member
 
TDI_Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SledDawg2 View Post
No USB port just a floppy slot like this ....



5.25" floppy
Pics please! Preferably with system on and running. I thought the 5.25" was dead around the end of Windows 3.1. ... And in a laptop???

I think you're pulling our chain. 😬
__________________
TDI_Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2013, 08:27   #15
Powder Hound
Veteran Member
 
Powder Hound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Conkud, New Hampshiyuh, USA
Default

Yikes that is old. I did have a laptop that as recently as 15 years ago used 3 1/2" floppies, but it was mostly because its usb ports were dead - no usb drivers from windows 98.
__________________
You always pay for what you get. Sometimes you get what you pay for.
It is called dope because it does make you dumb.
Thinking outside the box is difficult for some. They're afraid they'll fall off the edge of the box and be lost to oblivion.
Powder Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
manufacture date bockegg VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 11 April 12th, 2015 21:53
ECU swap - immobilser delete - just by software change in VCDS? bhodgkiss TDI Power Enhancements 22 May 11th, 2013 15:16
MK5/MK6 VCDS lite vs VCDS Full?? storx TDI Power Enhancements 3 July 30th, 2012 11:15
VCDS or Not to VCDS, THAT IS THE QUESTION BRADFORDKO TDI 101 6 July 15th, 2011 21:21
manufacture date? BatmanMN_M TDI 101 12 October 29th, 2003 16:49


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2020, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.17306 seconds with 11 queries
[Output: 131.44 Kb. compressed to 109.51 Kb. by saving 21.93 Kb. (16.69%)]