Cold starting issue 2.5tdi V6 BAU

LukeyBabes

TDI
2005 Audi allroad 2.5tdi BAU
Heya guys

I’m completely new to diesels and I know sort of how they operate. I’m sure I can learn a lot from this forum though.

I recently bought and have just started driving a 2005 audi allroad with the 2.5tdi BAU engine.

It seems to have an intermittent cold starting issue. Sometimes it will crank and crank for what seems like ages and eventually fire. And other times it takes a little longer than I'm used to in a petrol car. Might be normal, I don't know.

I only have one fault code which is

00560 - Exhaust gas recirculation system
08-10 - Control limit Surpassed - Intermittent

Could the EGR valve being stuck open with the build up of carbon cause a cold start issue? I.e. sucking air in through the exhaust instead of through the inlet/MAF. Could I unplug the MAF and try to start it to test this theory? I know on my old 1.8t petrol passat when the MAF went bad. I just unplugged it. Ran great until I got a new one.

It starts great when its warm and doesn't seem down on power but I've only driven it like this I guess.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Carlos_TJ

Veteran Member
TDI
2009 Bora (BXE PD)
Hello

While we never had your engine code in this side of the pond, we do know that a stuck open EGR can cause a no start/ hard start condition. Regarding your idea of disconnecting the MAF to test this, it will only make the ECU use default MAF values because the actual MAF is disconnected. The best way to test a stuck open EGR is to remove it and confirm there are no obstacles for the flap to operate. Is your car EGR controlled by vacuum?

miningman

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Golf
Out of curiousity, what is your definition of cold in Somerset?? Canadian tdi's regularily start at minus 20 or minus 25 Centigrade every day.

LukeyBabes

TDI
Hello