No Battery Light - Not Charging

ajsmolik

TDI
2001 Jetta TDI
Okay, I've been snooping around here for a couple of years but this is my first post.

When my 2001 Jetta 1.9L with no major mods quit charging the first time (about a year and a half ago) I got all the info I needed at this forum to diagnose the Voltage Regulator and R/R the Alternator. Thank You for that! I bought the cable from Ross-Tech and got VCDS and have solved a bunch of other problems.

This time has me stumped. The Jetta has been out of service for about 40 days and I am getting desperate. I've read as much as I could find here about this problem but wanted some advice before buying anything.

One day after pulling up into the driveway and shutting off - no restart within a few minutes. Dead Battery. There was no Battery Light on the dash to indicate a problem. I charged the battery, next day same thing. Battery tested good, and in fact I took it to Advanced Auto Parts and they said it was good.

I tested voltage with the motor running but no Charging even at higher rpm's. Curiously, no Battery Light on the dash. I took out the Alternator (a reman from RockAuto) and it tested good.

I grounded the D+ terminal from the plug and still no light. I checked as many grounds as I could find and everything seems OK. The wire in the harness does not appear to be broken and as far as I can feel around or find.

So it seems that my problem is either an ECM or the Instrument Cluster. Has anybody else had this happen? Is there any way to diagnose which one it is?:confused: Like anybody I don't want to spend hundreds of dollars just to find out it was the other part - or worse buy both and find out it was something else!

Thanks in advance

Alchemist

Veteran Member
TDI
'04 ALH Golf