2000 tdi No response from engine controller, starts then dies, no immobilizer light

Turboed

TDI
2000 jetta tdi
Hello,

I really am stumped with this problem. I have a 2000 jetta tdi that starts and runs fine for 2 seconds then dies every time. I have a flashing glow plug light that comes on and I have engine light on. The immobilizer light is not on. I cannot get the engine controller to respond with my vag com but have never had a problem doing so before. I have checked the dlc power, ground and k-link voltage(9v). I have checked and changed the obvious fuel filter and have fuel coming out of the lines. The fuel shut off has power all the time the ignition is on. Checked all the fuses. Tested the 109 relay. The relay is fine but the input ground #85 when checked with my power probe 3 displayed sporatic ground on and off and blinks fast. I am not sure if this is normal or not and may be coming from the ECM. I am pulling my hair out as this is my family car. I am a mechanic but I need some one that knows where to go from here. Any help is very very much appreciated.

Thank you,
Russ

PeterV

TDIClub Enthusiast, HO5G Doyen & Zen Master
TDI
2000 Jetta 5 sp.
First wrong area to ask this question.

13 old car bulbs do burn out.. ie the Immo bulb perhaps.

most likely you are using the wrong key to start the car...

The fob/key has been damaged.

In reality you need to get a vag com scan. The Vag Com will give you the code to fix.

Turboed

TDI
2000 jetta tdi
Thank you for your reply I appreciate it very much. Well my immobilizer light does work but turns off after three seconds after I turn on the ignition. So it doesn't look like I have a problem there. I do have a vag com that has never failed me until now. The engine controller will not allow me to connect (no response from controller). I can get into the abs module though so I know my vag com is working.