Insurance rates...?

2000alhVW

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 Golf
So I took the next step at being educated in considering a later model TDI, and I didn't like my quickie insurance rates.

I did a few online quotes at my current company, Geico, and a new quote at Progressive. As the car will most likely be financed, it's the first time I'm ever going to have full coverage. It makes quite a large difference, as I've enjoyed not paying for years.

The numbers were a bit unappealing. The lowest quote I saw is $150/month for so-so full coverage insurance. $1000 deductible, mediocre limits, etc.

Although I am younger (turning 24 in 2 weeks), my record is spotless - tickets and accidents. I'm not happy to see this, as it puts quite the damper on things. a $250-$300 car payment is certainly manageable for me, and is a responsible expense, but an extra 40-60% being spent on insurance is a lot to swallow.

Other things: I've been a driver for 8 years, no incidents. I've had my own insurance policy for ~2 years now. I live in a mostly rural area. I currently pay ~$110/month for 3 vehicles - all older, and liability only. Kinda off-putting since my best friend (same age) is paying ~$110/month for a $30k sports car in the city...

Any tips here?

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
I hear ya. I generally pay cash for my cars, and have only carried full coverage a few times. I have it now on my Sprinter, even though it is paid for, mainly because I cannot go out and replace it if something happened to it and it was a total loss. After a souring experience with State Farm when I was younger than you are now, I have learned to shop around.

Years ago I signed up with an insurance broker, and HE shops around and gets me a pretty good rate. Of course, being a homeowner, married, etc. as well as being much older and in a very low cost of living area helps.