Question about Stick Shift.

kcb

Veteran Member
Hi, I have just got a new TDI GOLF 3 weeks ago, and i'm still learning to drive it with alomsot 5000km on it already!

I have 2 questions.

1. Is it normal for the some resistance to exists when you shift into frist gear (with clutch fully depress) when the car is rolling backwards? (Vice-versa for shifting into reverse when the car is still rolling forward?) Is like some pulsing feeling on the shift knob.

2. can you shift out of gear into netural without steping on the clutch? does it damage/wear out anything ?

Thanks!

Ken

mikey_sa

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 SEAT Ibiza TDI CUPRA
It's never a good idea to shift into neutral (or do any shifting) without depressing the clutch with a fully manual stick shift car. If it has a cluctch then it is a fully manual stick shift. Use the clutch, even when shifting into neutral. If you are going to be coasting (rolling along withou accelerating) then roll along in gear (not in neutral) as this actually cuts the fuel supply completely and brings consumption down considerably (I have personally tested this). If you are coasting in neutral you are using fuel to keep the engine at idling speed.

happy shifting !

POWERSTROKE

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 Golf
1) There is some resistance....not much...it is pretty smooth....it is a little notchy...you can feel it click into place. But I feel this in all gears. I think you may be talking about something different.
2)Always depress the clutch when shifting in and out of any gear, including neutral.

DallasTDi

Veteran Member
TDI
2001 Jetta then 2011 A3 & 2013 Beetle
Mine has a *slight* resistance when engaging first gear, even with the clutch fully engaged.

00sierra

TDI
03 Jetta, Platinum, 115K
Got mine about the same time as you did, and have a few more miles. The shift behaviour on my TDI is exactly as you describe. Don't know, but it feels like the sort of resistance that will become smoother and the transmission wears in with time.