Oil Dilution From Frequent DPF Regens

whiplash willy

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 4-Door Golf TDI 6MT w/NAV & Sunroof
I had been tracking the frequency of my DPF active regens for a couple of months. I noticed that my regens seem to happen about ever 200-300 miles. I believe that is more frequent then most.

From myturbodiesel.com's DPF Thread

The active regeneration "self clean" occurs when filter soot loading is beyond 45% or every 466-621 miles
It is my understanding that active regens cause an increase in oil dilution, due the late cycle injection, which can get absorbed by the cylinder walls.

Since I have more frequent Active Regens then the average person, should I be concerned about increased oil dilution?

To make matters worse, I am in oregon that has mandated 5% Bio in their diesel. Biodiesel has a higher flash point and contributes to a higher rate of oil dilution. Using B5 and my more frequent Active Regens, worries me a little about my oil dilution at 10,000 miles.

From the following article:
http://www.biodieselmagazine.com/articles/2290/understanding-the-post-injection-problem/

A New Understanding of Biodiesel's Dilution Effect
Volkswagen is using post-injection for regeneration and according to Stuart Johnson with the Engineering and Environmental Office of Volkswagen Group of America, the issue of oil dilution from biodiesel is a real concern for the automakers. "We can tolerate up to 50 percent fuel mix in the oil but no more," he said at the 2008 National Biodiesel Conference.