02 Jetta TDI starts then dies NEED HELP

02BoraTDI

TDI
2014 Jetta Wagon
I have a 2002 Jetta TDI with 60k on it. My wife was drivign and pulled to a stop sign and it just stopped running. After checking it out i thought it might be the fuel filter since it would start and rev on its own and immediately shut off. After getting it towed and running Vag on it i came up with the following codes:

17969 Quantity Adjuster (n146) control Deviation

17971 Quantity Adjuster (n146) Lower limit reached

16486 sensor signal too low(g70)

17946 Fuel Shut off Solenoid Valve, open or short to ground (n109)
intermittent

I just recently replaceced the boost sensor with a 3 pin. My mechanic said that the Fuel Shut off Solenoid is losing power, so is this because the solenoid is bad or is there an ECU problem, or am i looking at a pump rebuild. I am hoping the Solenoid problem is causing the Quantity adjuster codes. Might be totally off im not a mechanic.

Any help is appreciated.

rdkern

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Passat 1997 silver (sold after 11 years), Jetta 2000 atlantic blue
The fuel filter is due. Even if it's not the problem, it is due and might help.

alphaseinor

TDI Innovator, Gone but Not Forgotten
TDI
'03 Jetta TDI 780,000 miles (totaled out), 01 Audi TT 225 Quattro 230,000 Miles (runs great!), 00 Cabreetle Beetle dash, ALH & MK4 harness Swap
Your QA housing took a dump...

you validate this is the problem if can get it to idle by loosening the QA housing and pushing it full right. when it's at idle you won't have any throttle at all...

it can also be an ECU or wiring harness.

It is probably going to be an injection pump... unless you know of someone who can swap a QA housing with you.

now... where are you exactly?

02BoraTDI

TDI
2014 Jetta Wagon