www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old May 8th, 2017, 07:26   #1
Fosco

Talking Run an ALH naturally aspirated ? (+sketchy dump valve fix)

Hey guys, long time lurker here, I'm 25 yo from France, been reading stuff & troubleshooting cars with help of this forum for awhile now.

I often get to work on TDI's (even tho I'm not a mechanic), it's about 10+ cars I often work on which are TDI powered (1Z, AHU, ALH, BKC and even 5cyl AXE engines).

So let's get started with my current subject :

My company owns a worn out VW Caddy TDI from the 2000's with ALH engine.

The car is falling appart from each and every side but lately, the VNT turbo started to get stuck and the ECU went to limp mode ... pretty annoying.

Since we don't give much f*** about it, we're not going to fix it, but instead of throwing it in a junkyard, we went for a temporary crappy fix : add a "non automotive" dump valve before the boost sensor.

So here it comes, we picked up a 7 to 11 bar (100-160 psi) safety valve, replaced the original spring with a softer one laying around and began setting it

0.9bar (stock pressure IIRC), boom it's done

Then comes the piping process, the plumber way :lol:

Fitted in the car

I went for a test run, it whistles so hard, it's so much fun, then goes the boom, hose went off, oil everywhere

We added some retaining springs for the hose not to fly (yet, mostly for fun, we know this wont last), and I went for another, longer testrun and well ...