Fuel Filter Drain

NickBeek

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Passat TDI 2006 Dodge Ram
So I figured out yesterday that the fuel filter housing on my 2011 Jetta does not have a drain. I have been driving diesel pickup trucks since 1999 and every truck I have owned has had drain on the filter housing that served 2 purposes. First to drain water from the filter (a monthly maintenance item) and to drain the filter housing to facilitate changing the filter. I guess we are supposed to just "buy fuel from a reputable dealer" and hope we never get water in the fuel? Kinda like sticking our heads in the sand isn't it? Now if our very expensive HPFP and CR injectors bite the dust I am sure they will check the fuel out and deny a warranty claim if water is detected. So what is a "mother" to do to protect his investment?

Please note the above contains some sarcasm. :p

40X40

Experienced
TDI
2013 Passat SEL Premium
You drain the filter housing when you change the filter. (20,000 miles) The last VW car in NA to have an actual drain at the bottom of the filter housing was an Mk IV in 2005, I think, although some old parts may have been installed on the 2005.5 early Mk V bodied cars.

I use Power Service fuel additives....

Bill

Joe_Meehan

Top Post Dawg
TDI
NB TDI, 2002.5, Silver
The drains were there from the old days (think about my 1976 Diesel Rabbit) when getting large amounts of water mix with the fuel, was not uncommon. The over the road trucks had/have good onboard separators and may still have them, but the fuel industry has cleaned up their act and water contaminated fuel is rare today. You don't need the drain.

procupine14

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Beetle 5sp
To be honest, I haven't ever drained anything out of my fuel filter housing and haven't experienced any water contamination thus far. Granted, I buy my fuel from pretty much the same station and always use additive.