1st TDI - 2005 or 2005.5 Jetta?

mimmik

TDI
2010 manual JSW
Hi, I'm a relative newbie looking to buy my first TDI. I've looked at several '05 Jetta sedans so far - I've read they was a redesign release mid-year, but can't find anything that mentions how you can tell if a specific car is the older or newer version, and if it makes a big difference to buy either over the other as a used car.

Any advice or tips very welcome - I've found this forum is full of very helpful people on my other 2 posts so far!

niteman9

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta
Completly differant cars.

This one is a 2001 but same body style as 2005

This is my 2006 but same body style of the 2005.5

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
and further to the above, the top photo is the "Mk4" body style and the bottom photo is the "Mk5" body style.

The interior styling is substantially different and the Mk5 is a larger car. The Mk5 has arguably better steering and ride/handling balance due to the use of a better rear suspension design, but it's harder to see out of, particularly to the rear quarters, due to the high belt-line (height of the bottom of the windows). Probably you'll be paying more for a Mk5 because it's the current body style.

TwoTone

Veteran Member
TDI
05.5 Jetta (sold)
Also, if you decide on the newer body style. VW started decontenting the cars after 05.5.

For example, my 05.5 Package 1 has more features than a 06 Package 1

dzcad90

Rolex & gin
TDI
Jetta - 97 (RIP), '03 (Sold), '09
MkV cars do have their perils though..

DSG (Auto Trans) Flywheel issues and Premature Camshaft wear issues are the big ones here..

If the car has service records that indicate that the DSG Dual-Mass Flywheel has been replaced, and a decent mechanic takes a look at the camshaft and says it looks OK, I'd go ahead with the 2005.5 car. Otherwise, the 2005 Jetta might be the better buy.