Excessive fuel consumption.....DUH

PumpeDuse

Recently I've become a proud owner of a 115 HP Bora TDI. It's an excellent car with a lot of extras, runs like hell. It's just (in my opinion) a bit too high fuel consumption that bothers me. For example: I tank it full and drive about 500 km before the reserve alert goes on ('Bitte tanken' message on MFA). Considering the tank volume of 55 liters (sorry, I'm not very good at American measurement standards), it's about 10 l per 100 km (orabout 23.5 US MPG, according to Fred's converter). Before I pop the question I'll also mention that I've made 2000 km with the car so far and about 90% of that driving was done in the city.
Do I have reason to be concerned about the consumption, because I read that the TDIs need quite a lot time to break in? And how long actually the TDI takes to break in (approximately, in kms or miles)?
I've reported it to the service and got an answer that it's completely normal for 115HP TDI to "drink some more" than usual.
Thank you all in advance.

PS I know I sort of missed the discussion area, but as soon as resolve this problem and fit Bora with alloy wheels, I'll post some pics of it to make up.
Thanks.

Mitja

Veteran Member
And I just wanted to say "no real TDI fellow reads this General discussion" put it into "Fuel economy". And here I see...

Great.

PD: Check for oil, I really wonder.
How to check for oil? After a nice drive (hot engine, so at 90C for at least 10 minutes) turn the engine off, wait for 2-3 minutes and check oil.

Do not wait for more than that, as oil will start to collect in carter and you'll get a false reading.

So, where will this discussion take place? CF?

DUH? That's international, a?

CFriedriszik

Veteran Member
TDI
See signature
Mitja,
he posted twice. This one I pulled out of the Galleries. For now, let´s have two topics - It would need combined effort of two mod. or Fred´s to correct that.
As I don´t think it will grow to a multi-page-topic, it may be ok.

Alek