My last VW was 36 yrs ago..2015 Passat observations

TDI
2015 Passat SE w/sunroof
I'm new to TDI CLUB...so here's some random background/observations of my life with VW:

In 1978, I was a 23 y/o kid looking for cheap transportation (the "gas shortage" of 1973 was fresh in my mind)....so after college I bought:
- 1978 VW Rabbit diesel (no such thing as a TDI, just a 4 cyl diesel w/o a turbo
- It had no air conditioner - but you could "add on" an aftermarket unit which I did and installed it myself. The A/C was pathetic
- You rolled up the windows by hand
- 4 speed stick was standard. There was no automatic
- Diesel fuel was 55 cents in 1978
- The Rabbit would freeze up when the temp approached zero...so I would drive to work and leave it running all day in the parking lot (just like the truckers) with the heater going full blast. At the end of a 9 hour day I came out to a warm car. Then I would fill up...only 2 to 3 gals used all day running!
- The Rabbit always got 50 + mpg...one time I got 59 on a trip
- It was fun to "smoke" other drivers. Flooring the Rabbit would cause it to blow clouds of nice black smoke.
- The Rabbit was sloooow.

I never lost my affection for VW diesels, so on Oct 27th, I bought a 2015 Passat SE w/sunroof. What a difference from 1978! A few observations so far.