Battery seeming to drain overnight

CameraJack

TDI
mk4 PD130 Golf Estate
I have a '97 VW Golf TDI estate. The car has always started like a champ, but recently it's started becoming reluctant to turn over in the mornings or if I've left it for a day or so. I work as a delivery driver and stop-start my car 30+ times a night with the headlights and stereo and often the wipers on, so obviously the starting and charging system takes a bit of a hammering. I'm fairly certain the alternator is good, as it'll start instantly throughout the night at work, and my meter shows 14.4v at idle. This leads me to believe that the battery is on the way out.

I've checked for possible drain by removing the negative terminal and placing my meter set to the amps mode between the battery and the negative terminal. Even with it set to the lowest sensitivity it shows zero. I don't know if that means I did it wrong (does it need to be off the positive side? I didn't think it made a difference?) or that the normal drains (stereo clock and cluster clock) are simply too small to show up. Hopefully it's the latter and I don't have an errant drain I need to track down.

Does this sound like a bad battery? If so I can go pick one up and carry on with my life. I don't have money to burn on replacing the wrong thing though.

Edit: Something possibly related, but not entirely, is that if I leave the ignition on with the engine off, the battery will be too drained to start the car within five minutes. I've simply avoided leaving the ignition on because the key sensor in the ignition barrel allows me to have the radio one with the ignition off, so I have no need for it, but I imagine this is a problem that will probably need solving at some point. FWIW, the radio will happily play for 30-60 minutes and the car will start easily. Someone I work with suggested it might be a sticky glow-plug relay, but I'm not entirely sure. I never use the glow plugs.