fan is running after turning the car off...

alragrossman

TDI
2010 jetta tdi
I just purchased a 2010 Jetta TDI and my average commute is 300mi this is the first time in 3500 mi that i've parked in my garage and noticed the fan is running... i guess it's cooling off the engine? please excuse my ignorance, i'm a newbie. i've made the same 160mi trip home several times since i bought the car last month but this is the first time the fan has kicked on after turning off the car. I let the fan run for 5min before starting it up again and shutting it off. The fan came back on for a while more and eventually kicked off. Anything to worry about??

thanks!

2010 Jetta TDI 3,200mi

StewartinND

TDI
'17 328d Sportswagon
Unless it was absolutely roasting outside odds there was a dpf regen in progress. The fans kick in to keep the engine bay from overheating. Watch for the idle being near 1k rpm before you shut down as thats the sure sign a regen is going on.

alragrossman

TDI
2010 jetta tdi
should it be doing a dpf regeneration this often? (every 3k miles) where should my car be idling under normal circumstances while in park?

ToeBall

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 VW Jetta Wagon TDI
Oh, it does it a lot more often then every 3k miles... just most of the time you're driving so you aren't likely to notice.

frugality

Top Post Dawg
TDI
none, 2016 GTI
Normal. My car did this the first day I owned it. You may notice a burnt plastic sort of smell, too, from the soot getting burned off.

As you drive your car more, you will probably start to notice when it is doing the DPF regeneration as you drive. When you're idling at a stop light, you may feel a little extra vibration from the engine, almost as though it were mis-firing. And the RPM's will be at about 1000 instead of the usual idle of 900.

alragrossman

TDI
2010 jetta tdi
wow, you guys are quick!!! thanks again. I'm wondering where TDI has been my whole life! I'm never going back

GeorgeF

TDI
2011 VW Golf 4Dr 6Spd