OBD Code P1403 - EGR System: Regulation Deviation

ryleeji

TDI
97 passat sedan
hi. i just bought a 97 passat tdi sedan in washington with 163,000 from a dealer and had a good first 90 miles of driving. after driving a bit this morning, the check engine light came on. i'm new to newer vw's and tdi's, so i was concerned. Shucks Auto Parts store diagnosed with an ODB2 and got a code P1403.

i drove back to portland and just looked on http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/17811/P1403/005123 and got this information:
17811/P1403/005123 - EGR System: Regulation Deviation

Possible Causes

• Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) faulty
  • Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) Valve (N18) faulty
Possible Solutions

• Check Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR)
  • Check Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) Valve (N18)
    • Perform Output Test
again - i'm new to tdi's and want to find some more information about this issue, level of severity, and good next steps.

i'm in portland oregon and would appreciate any leads on good tdi mechanics to check out the car, since i wasn't able to get much history.

cheers,
Ry

wolfburg

TDI
1997 PASSAT SEDAN
Hi everyone, brand new to the site and TDI (1997 passat TDI sedan 5 speed ) bought it at 61500 and have 65800 miles now. THANKS TO All for the great threads,so much info,a bit overwhelming ,one step at a time.

Hi Ry, I have the same problem as you do.No time to really look into it,maybe this weekend,hope some one will come up with some suggestions

Mario

Last edited:

MOGolf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Golf GLS TDI Reflex silver, rough road suspension and steel skid plate, 2004 Passat Variant, Candy White, rough road suspension and geared balanced shaft module, and much, much more. 2016 LR RR HSE TD6, 2019 Jaguar I-PACE
See the word "Search" above?
Click on it.
Type 17811 in the box then click "Go"
Read numerous threads on the subject.

wolfburg

TDI
1997 PASSAT SEDAN
thanks MO,