Who Here Clays Their Car Before Waxing?

PDJetta

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 Jetta GLS TDI Pumpe Duce Platinum Grey w/ Leather
Although the paint appears to be in really good shape on my car, I am considering using a clay bar on the paint before applying the Classi "All-In-One" that I apply twice yearly. I have never used a clay bar before. I've done the "plastic bag over my hand test" on the paint and I can feel a bunch of little bumps in the paint.

Is claying a good thing to do? Does it really make a difference in the finish? Any good brands of clay bar/lubricant I should use?

Thanks.

--Nate

Lex4TDI4Life

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Golf-Ute TDI GLS 5spd Manual
I do it and even on my pitted, swirled 6, year old finish it helps substantially. Did it a couple weeks back and the swirls on my roof are no longer visible. It won't do the job of a good polish, but it is safe and effective IMHO. I used a meguires kit that comes with a detailer lube that i keep in the hatch to clean off the occasional bird leavings.

cmitchell

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS black / black leather
I will admit that I do. It makes a world of difference... expecially if you're a bit picky (like I tend to be) about how your car looks. I use Zaino clay bars and a solution of Zaino car wash & water for lube. My wife and my children (girls) make fun of me for doing this. The first time my wife came out to the garage while I was claying and asked what I was doing I got an "I can't believe I married such an idiot" look from her!

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
Claying is the easiest way of getting the surface really clean and it doesn't take much time unless the surface is trashed from neglect.

FWIW, you need an intermediate polishing step following the claying process. Clay is abrasive and there are several grades ranging from mild to aggressive.

HopefulFred

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf, 2006, Indigo Blue