Exhaust

carsaremytoys

Veteran Member
TDI
01 Jetta TDI 5MT, 05 Passat wagon TDI 5MT
I'm sure this has been covered, but nothing happens when I click search...
I bought the 165whp kit from Kerma. S7 turbo. Should be picking up the car at the end of the week.
I'm new to diesels, but not turbo. Seams as if exhaust doesn't free up as much power in diesels?
What I really want to know is what I can expect if I do a 2.5 or 3in turbo back exhaust, or just the dp...
I may even mufflerectomy, but what is the difference if I put a resonator in instead of just a piece of pipe?
Any and all comments welcome!

crazyrunner33

Veteran Member
TDI
'10 Golf(bought back)
Deleting the cat and muffler would help a little; they're a little restrictive on these cars, but don't expect any miracles. You can go with an aftermarket downpipe if you like a lighter wallet. Anything over 2.5" is overkill and only helps the placebo effect, if that's what you're into.

carsaremytoys

Veteran Member
TDI
I wouldn't mind getting rid of the cat, just find a test pipe?

Andyinchville1

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI wagon, 5 sp, 226K miles
I wouldn't mind getting rid of the cat, just find a test pipe?
You could do that or just hollow out the existing cat from the topside and weld it back shut....

That way if you ever get inspected it looks stock.

Andrew

Ps.... for off road use only right? ;-)

Last edited:

Andyinchville1

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI wagon, 5 sp, 226K miles
I don't have emissions or quality tests where I live.
We don't have emission tests in VA either but if emission parts are missing we would fail to get our annual state inspection sticker (of course one can still go around and find an "easier" inspector but that is often a hassle and sometimes you cannot easily find one.