VW TDI vs Honda HX MPG & Cost of Maintenance

tankboy

Hi,

New to the forum. I am an insurance agent and my sister is an examiner for the state. We live in Illinois. Both looking for an economical car that gives great mileage. What is the opinion between the Golf TDI vs the Honda Civic HX? I, myself, is interested in a Jetta Wagon TDI.

Has anyone ever broke down side by side comparision between a car like the HX versus a TDI in terms of oil, filter, service, timing belts, and fuel? Thank you in advance.

Jim

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
I'm not familiar with the Civic HX, I don't believe that we get it here.

VW's in general tend to have more silly little things go wrong that don't seem to happen on Hondas, but countering that, I've not had anything out of the ordinary go wrong with mine.

The Honda's fuel consumption ratings are good but not quite the equal of a TDI, and in this particular area, diesel fuel is less expensive than gasoline, so the TDI will still cost less to feed.

VW costs more initially, but compare features, and slam the doors on both vehicles, and you'll find out why. A Civic and a Jetta may be comparable in size, but not in many other areas.

I'd strongly urge a test-drive of both vehicles. The TDI has abundant mid-range torque that may be lacking in the Civic.

george303

Veteran Member
TDI
Bora GLS, 2002, Jazz blue black leather
I will be honest, since especialy both the honda and VW group are my favourite Car manufacuturers

The reason why I chose the VW TDI over the civic was:
The TDI is simply more appealing to me, more power(much), fun to drive, different, and of course economic.
I would also say that VW makes far more luxurious and safe cars