New TDI owner - 2010 Golf 4dr DSG, extended service plan?

mcneil

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI 4dr, 2001 Jetta TDI, Jeep TDI project
Hi all,

Great forum here, I've been reading it for years before I finally registered. My first post is about the new purchase, a 2010 Golf TDI, 4dr, with the DSG, xenons & sunroof.It's got 12 miles on it, 7 of which were my test drive.

I pick it up Wednesday, and I still have the option to get the $2762 extended service plan. I normally dislike warranties, I'm a rather competent mechanic and find it's usually faster to fix it myself than take it to a shop and get a ride home, etc. But the dealer claims the cost of the extended service plan will be refunded if it's not spent after 7yrs/70k.

So what's the recommendation of the forum, should I go with the extended plan?

vinistois

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 golf wagon tdi
I got the extended warranty for $500, but paid full msrp on the car. It was the only place they were willing to budge.

I think its worth it, its fairly well explained, so you just have to decide for yourself.

numl0ck

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI
Hi all,

Great forum here, I've been reading it for years before I finally registered. My first post is about the new purchase, a 2010 Golf TDI, 4dr, with the DSG, xenons & sunroof.It's got 12 miles on it, 7 of which were my test drive.
Congrats on the new ride! You'll love it. :D

But the dealer claims the cost of the extended service plan will be refunded if it's not spent after 7yrs/70k.
I would get that in writing. That sounds fishy to me. And what is the definition of "spent"?

Also, keep in mind that the car comes with a 3yr/30k plan, so you're really purchasing a 4y/40k plan (not 7). I did not get the extended service plan, however you can always purchase it towards the end of the standard 3 year plan. Like vinistois suggested, you can always haggle the price on the plan. There are members who got theirs thrown in for free.

saucer

Veteran Member
TDI