New LED Tail Light

WORBC

Veteran Member
TDI
New Beetle
I recently installed new LED tail lights and now, every 10 mins or so, I get a flashing glow plug light (as noted in many posts on this board). It appears to be caused because the LED lights have a lower resistance than the OEM lights.

I haven't installed a resistor in parallel or anything yet, my question is as a new VAG COM user (I hae software, dongal, and computer), is there a way I can just turn on this "lights status checking"?

thanks,

--terry

daedalus

Veteran Member
TDI
05 Variant TDI Black w/Gray
I don't have LEDs so I am far from an expert. That being said, you said the LED resistance is too low, causing the problem. Putting a resistor in parallel with the LED would lower resistance, making it worse. A Series resistor would increase circuit resistance.

WORBC

Veteran Member
TDI
New Beetle
daedalus said:
I don't have LEDs so I am far from an expert. That being said, you said the LED resistance is too low, causing the problem. Putting a resistor in parallel with the LED would lower resistance, making it worse. A Series resistor would increase circuit resistance.
Hummm. That's a very good point. I need to reread the threads that I hae have found, they all have suggested a resistor to be placed in Parallel. Heck, if you do a search on google for LED lights and CEL, there are some posts that recommend the same thing, but you are right, that would just lower the resistance where putting one in series, a low ohm resistor, would might work.

--terry

GoFaster

Moderator at Large
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
You need to increase the *current* drawn by the LED lamps. This means the resistor has to go in *parallel* as you originally stated.

Bulb monitoring enable/disable is a Mk5 thing; can't be changed on your Mk4 car.

Nutsnbolts

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2000 Jetta, Silver Arrow