catastrophic DMF failure in a 2k6 DSG transmission :(

GardRail

Veteran Member
TDI
2k2 Blue Golf
The title pretty much says it all... The poor company car's transmission gave up the ghost, sheering off portions of spring, or other unknown metallic innards with such force to pierce multiple holes out the 1/4" cast aluminum housing.

The bits and pieces were evident when the plastic shield was removed from the bottom of the car. There were numerous bits of spring consisting of larger gauge metal, a few smaller spring bits along with an unhealthy pile of shredded metal which may be a combination of aluminum and iron...

Being that this is a company car - the dealership is the place I take it just so that all is properly documented. Cost of parts ~ 7500.00 for a new DSG so far... It is unknown if the engine block has any damage.

As you guys probably know - i'm far from an expert; I wouldn't even call myself a shade-tree mechanic... But based on my understanding of a transmission... once the factory bolts it on - it aint coming off unless something needs to be fixed - ie replacing the transmission or engine. The Dual Mass Flywheel on that car shouldn't have exploded at 96k miles! Can this be considered a manufacturers defect?

is there any way this tidbit mentioned on myturbodiesel.com can help: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/images/pdf/VW-DSG-recall-warranty-extension.pdf

The total parts & labor for the car so far (without finding anything else wrong) is upwards to around 9,500.00.... :(

runonbeer

Maintenance EnthusiastVendor
TDI
'00 Golf 02M, '10 Golf 02E, '02 UTE 02M
I'm sure it gave you plenty of warning before finally blowing up

There are a couple of used DSGs for sale in the classifieds right now for way less than $7500. Labor to R&R should be around $700 including new fluid install.

Bummer.

I never knew that the dealership was the only repair facility capable of documenting a repair :rolleyes:

Last edited:

Franko6

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI