Mr2 tdi

lozzzzzz

TDI
MR2 (AHF engine)
Hi folks, I'm new to TDI's but not to projects. I'll be posting progress on a few forums and thought this would be a great one to join. Both in terms of getting help with my project and hopefully entertaining a few of you with my random project.

Let me explain this strange idea. This summer I have been building a biodiesel plant and am now making fuel at somewhere between 25-28p per liter. I've also taken a new job which is miles away. Joining the dots you can see that I have no choice but to drive a diesel of some kind. After looking at the option, I've found there are some interesting (fast) diesels about. But I could do with an older distributor pump type (90s) to run on "rough" (not 100%) biodiesel.

So this a diesel engine wrapped in a nice car. That's how I'm thinking of it anyway. eventually, I'll tune to near 180hp and it will have plenty of low grunt for boring (or not so boring) commuter type driving.

So here is it:

The first thing I did was have all the rust and dents sorted (I'm not good with rust repairs). This is it after picking up from the bodyshop. (it still needs a polish)).

I've been looking for an engine for months (cheap and lowish miles) and finally found this last week.

I'm really happy with my purchase and think I've got it a at a reasonable price. It's a 1999 seat toledo with a 110hp AHF engine. soon to run out of MOT and Tax but still legal long enough to get it home. It has 89k on the clock and cost £450.

I've not had long on it due to starting a new job that entails rather a lot of commuting, but here is the progress so far. I've just been stripping the loom, and labelling.

I think its one of the very last distributor pump type TDI engine from VAG and can be tuned plenty :)

I want to get it running on the garage floor, then carefully strip away all the parts I don't new leaving the engine loom and instrument cluster, and hopefully adding a cruise control stalk for good measure.

I plan to: