Newbie with a question about 03 and older TDI's

ckrider

TDI
2014 Passat TDI SE
Hey, thanks in advance for checking out my post. I am a newbie to the forum and have one initial question to get me started.

I have been doing a lot of looking at Jetta and Golf TDI's, 2001 and newer, on eBay and Cars.com. Yesterday I found something interesting posted under one of the cars I found on eBay. It said:

2004 VW JETTA GLS TDI TURBO DIESEL ( PUMPE DEUSE )
What is "Pumpe Deuse" you ask? It is why you should only consider buying a 2004 or later TDI. The 2003 and earlier engines were NOT built for the VERY SOON to come ULSD (Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel), and will require an expensive modification to adapt the injection pumps.

Anyone out there know if there is any truth to this? Any help or knowledge on this would be greatly appreciated.
Here is a link to the auction if you want to check it out for yourself: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/e...m=220032131041&ih=012&sspagename=STRK:MEWA:IT

Thanks again!

CK

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta
What a moronic statement. The Euros have been running ULSD for years.

WOOOOOFFFFFFFFFF....What a load of horse-hockey that is !

compu_85

Gadget Guy
TDI
... None :S
Ya. I've run a few tanks of ULSD B99 through my car, no problems.

There have been some problems with leaking seals on older cars, but it's not a mod that's then required, just replacement of the seals.

-Jason

silverstar03

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Golf TDI
that's classic bs marketing... any diesel can run on ULSD, but the new new (2008) diesels can ONLY run ULSD. The 03s are very versatile: biodiesel ok, regular diesel ok, ULSD ok. The 04 PD engines have a bit more horsepower and features, but the fuel is backwards compatible

ymz

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI Wagon, 2003 Jetta TDI Wagon