project B5 wagon in Wichita (charity case?)

tditom

Top Post Dawg
TDI
formerly: 2001 Golf GL, '97 Passat (RIP) '98 NB, '05 B5 sedan
http://wichita.craigslist.org/cto/1890103577.html

sad story from the owner:
Hi Tom Iam sorry it took so long to answer, but I haven't had internet until today, your area code looks familiar we probably already talked on the phone,
the truth about the car is: it has a salvaje title, it has the original tires, the airbag on the [pasager side deployed, when we bought it, it was running great then my husband and i decided to take
a ttrip to ks city so he made an oil change, diesel cars dont take too much oil so he put more than he should, so it messed up the turbo, we put a new turbo, after we picked it up the windows and the sun roof was not working and it is not speeding like it was. we bought it for 16 000 paid almost 1200 in taxes, paid 1650 for a new turbo and the mechanics are not being responsible for the parts that are not working, Im a hair stylist and my husband is not working (he is going to school) and i can not afford to keep fixing the car, Im aware that im losing almost $8000 but i cant put any
more money in it, if you would like to make an offer please let me know, if you are not interested in it I will totally understand.
The car is in great shape, When is running properly it gives u about 37 mpg.
it would be really cool if someone could help this person out...

mogly

Veteran Member
TDI
MKIV TDI + B5.5V AVF/01E
I think that there are going to be many more stories similar to this with the B5.5s. BSM, plugged sunroof drains, TCs, etc ...

Lug_Nut

TDIClub Enthusiast, Pre-Forum Veteran Member
TDI
idi: 1988 Bolens DGT1700H, the other oil burner: 1967 Saab Sonett II two stroke
$12.5K for a salvage title, no BS gear, over-filled oil, bad windows, bad sunroof, low power ("...it is not speeding like it was"), seller considers taxes paid on it as added value...
Low 44k miles is a plus, but everything else says run away.

tditom