2002 Jetta cranks but no start

SummerSmoke

TDI
2002 Jetta
Hi! I'm very new at this so sorry for what must be a frequent topic around here.

My 2002 Jetta (165k miles) cranks but will not start. It cranks somewhat slowly, around 125 RPMs but I'm not sure if this is slow enough to indicate a problem.
I've tried going through several guides but I'm struggling on how to narrow it down from all of the possible issues.

Possibly related symptoms: mild electrical sound with key turned before ignition (possibly normal for glow plugs). During cranking overhead dome lights dim and flicker. This has always been the case and I thought it was normal but perhaps it is related. After the engine stops turning, there is an electrical sounding BZZZZZZZT for a few seconds. I think this is the starter motor, not sure if that's a normal noise or not. Car has always had trouble starting in cold, and failed to start in extreme cold weather once though this was possibly a result of fuel gelling.

Of note also, the last time the car ran it was refueled. Could indicate a bad batch of fuel???

Here are the hypotheses I've come up with:

Bad battery: unlikely, battery is less than 1 month old. Checked by O'reilly, rated as good. Voltage normally reads about 12.75v, drops to 10.9v while the engine is turning over. Seems normal to me, but I could be wrong.

Bad starter motor: possible, matches symptoms as described by people who had this problem before of low crank RPMs, trouble starting in the cold, and flickering dome light. I tested the voltage between the two electrodes on the solenoid and it seems to be getting good voltage so I don't think it's a connection issue. How do I determine if the motor itself is the problem (aside from replacing it)?